Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tuners : Guitar, solid peghead tuners : Gotoh Tuners : Gotoh Locking Vintage Oval Knob Tuners

Gotoh Locking Vintage Oval Knob Tuners


Read 40 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Locking versions of the classic oval knob, stamped housing tuners found on vintage Fender® guitars. For 6-in-line pegheads.

See details below

Email a friend
Gotoh Locking Vintage Oval Knob Tuners
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1954 Nickel, 6-in-line Yes
$59.94
3 or more $47.39  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Guitar Tech Screwdriver Set



Gotoh Vintage Oval Knob Tuners



Guitar String Retainers



Replacement Neck for Strat Guitar



Vintage-Style String Retainer



Guitar Tech Screwdriver Set
Gotoh Vintage-style Oval Knob Tuners 6-In-Line
Guitar String Retainers
Replacement Neck for Strat Guitar
Vintage-Style String Retainer



Details
 Pictures
Specs
Instructions
6-in-line locking tuners that are the perfect upgrade for old or new Fenders with "Kluson-style" tuners — they're a direct retrofit!

These fine reproductions feature old style stamped gear housings, but have modern improved 15:1 gearing for smoother, more precise action.

All sets include mounting screws and round press-fit peghead bushings. Peghole spacing is 4-11/16" (119.06mm). 11/32" (8.73mm)-diameter pegholes required. Please note that 3 of the tuners have a green decal on the back of the machine. These 3 machines have a smaller diameter string hole, and are to be used with the unwound (G,B,E) strings.

To be sure these tuners fit your instrument, compare your existing machines and peghole dimensions to our listed specs to help determine the best replacement.
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Gotoh Locking Vintage Oval Knob Tuners
Gotoh Locking Vintage Oval Knob Tuners
 
4 out of 5 stars
Based on 40 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4 >
5 10-15-2011
locking tuners

From a distance, these look just like the vintage tuners. These were used on a new build and they fit, installed, and performed as advertised. I don't know why so many reviewers had so much trouble with the screws. You have to drill a proper hole and lube the threads. You have to screw it in incrementally. That is two turns in one turn out etc, until it bottoms out. If you bulldoze it in you're going to break the screw no matter how good it is.

Don't blame the screws, it's a poor workman that blames his tools. The only concern I have is the top cap,the actual string post,can be lost.I don't know if replacements are available so be careful when changing strings.

jadeharp  Murfreesboro,TN
4 9-27-2011
Locking tuners

These help keep my strat in tune when dive bombing, although this particular style of locking tuner takes longer to change strings.

carlton wilkinson  victoria, tx Read my reviews (27)
5 9-21-2011
Gotoh Locking Tuners

Everything is ok with the screws. Today I tried with hard maple. no problem. You just need to drill large enough hole.

Alexander  Russia , Perm Read my reviews (4)
1 8-26-2011
Cheap...but not too cheerful

I've used Gotoh locking tuners on may guitars in the past, but this is the first time I've used the ones from StewMac. All I can say about them is, buy the originals if you don't mind paying a bit extra.

First thing, everything the other reviewers say about the screws is correct. The supplied ones look ok, but are really not up to the job (and with so many negative comments. I drilled the correct pilot holes and the second one I tried to use sheared off flush with the hole. This meant using needle nose pliers to try and remove the broken thread causing damage to the hole. BUY REPLACEMENT SCREWS.

Next up is the quality of the actual tuner. These must be made under some kind of manufacturing license with less QC than the originals. The plating just looks cheap and too glossy - more chrome than nickel. Also, the holes drilled through the post are too small and it's very difficult to insert the string end.

I would not recommend these for fitting to anything other than a very cheap instrument.

JohnL  UK Read my reviews (10)
5 8-10-2011
works for my application

very good tuner! and i did not experience problem with the screws.

weylan  philippines Read my reviews (11)
4 7-22-2011
Gotoh Locking Vintage Oval Knob Tuners - Nice!

I read the reviews prior to making the purchase and followed the advice offered regarding the screws... so reused the existing screws. These tuners installed perfectly on my artist series Telecaster. No problems or issues. That really improved tune-ability and stability of being in tune. I really did not realize how much difference they could make. I only replaced the existing tuner because I just hated the slotted peg design. One thing I noticed about the Gotoh tuners is that some of them were stiffer to turn. I am a bit puzzled by this.

Dizzle Sound  Keedysville, MD.
5 6-04-2011
Very satisfied with Gotho Locking Vintage Oval Tuners

I don't get what everyone is complaining about. The only way you twist screws apart is

(a) you have the wrong screwdriver, and /or
(b) your holes are not drilled deeply or large enough.

I put these on my Fender 59 Reissue Thin Skin Stratocaster that I got from Wildwood Guitars. The screws fit perfectly, and did NOT strip or break. The Ferrels were a bit skinnier than the originals, so I wrapped one layer of scotch tape around the ferrels, and they then fit perfectly.

In fact, the complaint the guy made about the tuner shafts leaning? He probably used his original ferrels! You have to use the ones supplied with the Gotohs. You can whammy HARD with these, and you stay in tune. I couldn't be more pleased. Thanks Stew-Mac for a great price on a great product.

WALDOCASTER  Texas
Customer supplied image for review
3 5-28-2011
Nice Tuners But Be Careful

I second the other reviewers who said: DON'T USE THE PROVIDED SCREWS!!! I thought, "I'm more careful than most..." One screw snapped in half while screwing in. I had to bore out the hole. The tuners are pretty good. Each one feels slightly different than the next. They've got the look though.

JT McGuire  Los Angeles Read my reviews (3)
1 5-27-2011
I should have listened about the screws

When I ordered these I made a mental note to watch out for the screws. Of course once they got here I forgot all about that and tried to install them. Three broken screws later I'm back with a bad report.

I'm not superman, and wasn't trying to make them especially tight. The holes in my Maple strat neck (MIM, 50th anniversary) were drilled by Fender so there should have fit.

When the first two broke I thought I'd stripped the wood; it wasn't until the 3rd once broke that I pulled them all out and realized they had broken off below the surface.

These screws are about as strong as cheese. In such an expensive set of tuners there's just no excuse to pack junk like this. Since they apparently pack them in-house it would be easy for this seller to ship some better screws. I won't be buying here again.

John B  Cupertino CA
4 5-08-2011
Worst screws I've ever seen

The tuners are fantastic. They function perfectly but the supplied screws are possibly THE worst I have ever seen. The head started stripping the closer I got to tightening them. Highly recommended you buy more screws when ordering these tuners.

Tim R  USA Read my reviews (7)
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 58 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce