Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Finishing supplies : Repair and touchup : Lacquer Sticks

Lacquer Sticks


Read 10 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Replacement lacquer sticks for burn-in repairs.


Email a friend
Lacquer Sticks
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1916-AM Amber Yes
$4.99

1916-B Black Yes
$4.99

1916-CL Clear Yes
$4.99

1916-AD Dark Amber 1-3 days
$4.99

1916-CD Dark cherry Yes
$4.99

1916-WD Dark walnut Yes
$4.99

1916-WL Light walnut Yes
$4.99

1916-MM Mahogany Yes
$4.99

1916-K Oak Yes
$4.99

1916-WH White Yes
$4.99


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Behlen Lacquer Repair Kit



Respirator Mask



Behlen Burn-In Balm

Behlen Wool-Lube



Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step



Behlen Lacquer Repair Kit
Respirator Mask
Behlen Burn-In Balm
Behlen Wool-Lube
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step



Details
 Pictures
See Pictures

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Lacquer Sticks
Lacquer Sticks
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 10 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10
3 10-05-2013
Decent, but only for small repairs

I got a few colors to fix up a couple of my axes that had dings in the finish. Once you get good with the technique for these, it works OK, but not perfect. The translucent colored shade I got looks right in the 1/2 inch thick stick, but when you get a thin layer on the repair, they hardly show any color at all, and did not match the red tint of my finish. The solid colors are fine. Also, the material is harder than the existing finish on some guitars, so if you want to sand it smooth, be very careful, as it will take away the finish in the area around the repair in the process. Finally, do not layer this stuff thick, it is brittle and will crack. I could see where these would work well for a seasoned pro, but if you have some minor damage and want to save a few bucks on a repair, I wouldn't risk it.

AA74  Boston
4 8-07-2013
NOT FOR AMATUERS!!!

I'm giving this product less than 5 stars not because of any shortcoming of the product itself, but simply because the sales pitch makes it sound simple and easy to use. It is not. The color and quality seems very good, but unless you have extensive experience and artisan-ship with this product, I recommend leaving it to the Pros. In my naivety, I tried to use the white lacquer after watching the demo video several times, merely to fix 2 small blemishes on my guitar. Now I have 2 LARGE blemishes, and I'll have to pay a professional when I can afford it, to repair my "repairs"

MDH  Texas Read my reviews (3)
5 4-10-2013
Repair

Very nice quality,Thanks.

Vytautas  Lithuania Read my reviews (3)
5 1-08-2013
nice!

try it. :)

jiROck Custom  Philippines Read my reviews (58)
5 8-07-2012
Fills a gap

I purchased black for filling fret ends, which makes the fretboard look like it has been bound with ebony, and clear for use in other hair-line gaps. They have produced good results for me. I could not find a UK supplier which stocked this product as individual sticks.

James Murphy  Plymouth England Read my reviews (12)
Customer supplied image for review
5 12-07-2011
Great for a drop fill!

I use these all the time to fix chips on the head stock or gaps under fret ends. With practice you can get really good results. Practice on scrap and use the Burn in Balm to prevent overflow, file, sand up 12k, buff and your done. Melts to a honey like constancy with a good color match.

Gabriel's Guitar Repair  Dallas, TX Read my reviews (18)
5 7-09-2011
Great Products

Another great StewMac product - I know they're just lacquer sticks and you can get them everywhere, but they make life a lot easier.

A. Lucas  Canada Read my reviews (27)
5 5-23-2011
GREAT!!!

Absolutely wonderful, I will be getting these more often.

The Rock Shop  Ottawa, ON Read my reviews (10)
5 2-13-2011
the difference...

These sticks are great. Melt easily and flow well as another user stated. Have to be careful on the lighter color ones not to overheat and burn it. As the title says, this is the difference between a good build and a GREAT one. No gap, however small, goes unnoticed and these really make them invisible!

I like to flow a bit of the clear into a abalone inlay and scrape just to make it really look like one finished piece... try it!

Adam Yavner  Sydney, Australia Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
5 9-02-2010
Works Well

Good quality lacquer sticks. They melt easily and flow well.

A. Scott  Tulsa OK Read my reviews (26)
Displaying 1 – 10 /\ Top of Reviews


Website only (not shown in our catalog).
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce