Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Nuts, saddles : String nuts : Black TUSQ XL Nuts

Black TUSQ XL Nuts


Read 49 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Self-lubricating nuts from Graph Tech are ideal for string bending and tremolo work. Now in more sizes!

See details below

Email a friend
Black TUSQ XL Nuts
 

For Fender® guitars and basses
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Black TUSQ XL Nuts  1865  Black, unslotted
1-3/4" x 1/4" x 1/8"
(44.45mm x 6.20mm x 3.17mm)
10" (254mm) top radius; flat bottom
Yes
$13.35
6 or more $6.99  
12 or more $6.29  

Black TUSQ XL Nuts  1866  Black, slotted for guitar
1-3/8" (35.18mm) string spread
1-11/16" x 7/32" x 1/8"
(42.93mm x 5.33mm x 3.35mm)
7-1/4" (184.15mm) top and bottom radius
Yes
$13.35
6 or more $6.99  
12 or more $6.29  

Black TUSQ XL Nuts  1884  Black, slotted for guitar
1-3/8" (35.18mm) string spread
1-3/4" x 1/4" x 1/8"
(44.45mm x 6.20mm x 3.35mm)
7-1/4" (184.15mm) top radius; flat bottom
Yes
$13.35
6 or more $6.99  
12 or more $6.29  


For Gibson® guitars
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Black TUSQ XL Nuts  1868  Black, unslotted
1-29/32" x 3/8" x 3/16"
(48.39mm x 9.52mm x 4.88mm)
12" (304.80mm) top radius
Yes
$13.35
6 or more $6.99  
12 or more $6.29  

Black TUSQ XL Nuts  1869  Black, slotted
1-7/16" (36.20mm) string spread
1-3/4" x 11/32" x 3/16"
(44.07mm x 8.36mm x 4.98mm)
16" (406.40mm) top radius
Yes
$13.35
6 or more $6.99  
12 or more $6.29  


For Epiphone® guitars
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Black TUSQ XL Nuts  1873  Black, slotted
1-3/8" (34.54mm) string spread
1-23/32" x 11/32" x 1/4"
(43.84mm x 8.89mm x 6.10mm)
15" (381.00mm) top radius
Yes
$13.35
6 or more $6.99  
12 or more $6.29  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

TUSQ XL Nuts



String Saver Classic Saddles



String Saver Saddles



String Saver Tune-o-matic Saddles



String Spacing Rule



TUSQ XL Nuts
String Saver Classic Saddles
String Saver Saddles
String Saver Tune-o-matic Saddles
String Spacing Rule



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
Extra slippery: TUSQ XL® is impregnated with Teflon® (500% more slippery than graphite). During tremolo bends, the strings slide in the slots, returning to accurate pitch.

Dense and resonant: Pressure-formed TUSQ transfers string energy more efficiently, without dead spots found in natural materials. Guitars come alive with enhanced harmonics, volume and sustain.

Pre-shaped: Slotted or unslotted, they require only minor trimming.




/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Black TUSQ XL Nuts
Black TUSQ XL Nuts
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 49 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5 >
4 6-04-2011
tusq nut

the gibson style nut should be a little thicker on the base like a 1/4 of an inch at least 6,3 mm. Thanks.

antonio pedro luthier  rio de janeiro brasil
3 5-29-2011
Tusq nuts

This item is easy to work with. But dose not last long. The strings get stock in it after a wail.

Tryggve LTO custom guitars  Gothenburg, Sweden Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
4 4-30-2011
Slotted nut

I recently purchased this nut to replace one that came with a Les Paul kit. The nut was slotted perfect way better than the one that came with the kit. Would definitely buy again, great product.

Hobert  Blytheville , AR Read my reviews (3)
2 4-20-2011
Black Tusq XL Nuts

Don't like the 2 moulding holes in the bottom. They are substantially deeper than I originally thought and really hope I never expose one of them when cutting a slot. Not to mention tone and sustain loss (yes, the holes are THAT deep, in my opinion). These SHOULD be a solid piece like the cheap ones they sell. Just mold one big chunk of the stuff and cut into nut sized blanks like everything else. The only reason I gave them 2 stars because they actually hold good tune, but really wanted to give one because of the cheap quality. I would suggest a different type of nut to anyone that's interested in these, just make sure its designed for trem use like these are (assuming that's why you were looking at these in the first place).

Jerhico Guitars  Altona, NY Read my reviews (51)
5 4-07-2011
replacement #1869 for '86 Charvel model 5

Works excellently to prevent string pinching.. lets the string slide like it needs to with a guitar with a behind the nut string lock.

James D  CA Read my reviews (4)
3 3-31-2011
could not use

My neck has a nut slot width of 0.129". Compared to the only width for "fender style" available being 0.125", the price of the nut plus shipping was a big fat waste of money. It's my fault for not measuring the slot width before ordering, but I'm still surprised and saddened that over-sized widths are not available.

Jason G.  Tomball, Tx. Read my reviews (4)
3 3-10-2011
Quick and Easy BUT can not replace BONE

We use these for rockers mostly, who work their strings insanely! They're fast to shape, inexpensive, and are slippery enough to handle the most aggressive blues benders. BUT, be prepared to replace those nuts many more times than BONE over the life of the guitar. What you gain in flexibility you lose in longevity, I'm afraid. Benders may find that they will continue to cut into the nut over the life of the nut. Thereby continuing to "lower" the action as they play. Be careful to use the right part in the right application and you'll be fine. AND don't permanently glue a nut in place EVER! GREG GUITARS

doc  southport, nc Read my reviews (11)
5 3-06-2011
Great Nut

Usually use bone, but tried these for a color match and was pleasantly surprised. Looks cool with a black headstock and is great for blues bending.

George Yeager Guitars  Boynton Beach, FL Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
5 1-24-2011
Excellent

Fantastic bought one of these for my SG, when the cheap plastic nut cracked and broke off. The instant i got it down my guitar sung. Not ONLY did it keep it in tune within a quarter-half step (dramatic improvement), but the tone improved.

DK89  Manchester, UK.
1 1-11-2011
Poor quality

I was very disappointed with the quality of these nuts. I ordered 6 as they were substantially cheaper per unit (but still expensive). They are made from soft black plastic and worst of all, there are two hollow moulding holes, one under the B string which is not good for sustain. On one, the B string slot exposed the hole. I had to throw all 6 away!

Shawn O'Neill  Westville, South Africa Read my reviews (21)
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 18 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce