Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Nuts, saddles : String nuts : Black TUSQ XL Nuts

Black TUSQ XL Nuts


Read 49 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Self-lubricating nuts from Graph Tech are ideal for string bending and tremolo work. Now in more sizes!

See details below

Email a friend
Black TUSQ XL Nuts
 

For Fender® guitars and basses
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Black TUSQ XL Nuts  1865  Black, unslotted
1-3/4" x 1/4" x 1/8"
(44.45mm x 6.20mm x 3.17mm)
10" (254mm) top radius; flat bottom
Yes
$13.35
6 or more $6.99  
12 or more $6.29  

Black TUSQ XL Nuts  1866  Black, slotted for guitar
1-3/8" (35.18mm) string spread
1-11/16" x 7/32" x 1/8"
(42.93mm x 5.33mm x 3.35mm)
7-1/4" (184.15mm) top and bottom radius
Yes
$13.35
6 or more $6.99  
12 or more $6.29  

Black TUSQ XL Nuts  1884  Black, slotted for guitar
1-3/8" (35.18mm) string spread
1-3/4" x 1/4" x 1/8"
(44.45mm x 6.20mm x 3.35mm)
7-1/4" (184.15mm) top radius; flat bottom
Yes
$13.35
6 or more $6.99  
12 or more $6.29  


For Gibson® guitars
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Black TUSQ XL Nuts  1868  Black, unslotted
1-29/32" x 3/8" x 3/16"
(48.39mm x 9.52mm x 4.88mm)
12" (304.80mm) top radius
Yes
$13.35
6 or more $6.99  
12 or more $6.29  

Black TUSQ XL Nuts  1869  Black, slotted
1-7/16" (36.20mm) string spread
1-3/4" x 11/32" x 3/16"
(44.07mm x 8.36mm x 4.98mm)
16" (406.40mm) top radius
Yes
$13.35
6 or more $6.99  
12 or more $6.29  


For Epiphone® guitars
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Black TUSQ XL Nuts  1873  Black, slotted
1-3/8" (34.54mm) string spread
1-23/32" x 11/32" x 1/4"
(43.84mm x 8.89mm x 6.10mm)
15" (381.00mm) top radius
Yes
$13.35
6 or more $6.99  
12 or more $6.29  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

TUSQ XL Nuts



String Saver Classic Saddles



String Saver Saddles



String Saver Tune-o-matic Saddles



String Spacing Rule



TUSQ XL Nuts
String Saver Classic Saddles
String Saver Saddles
String Saver Tune-o-matic Saddles
String Spacing Rule



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
Extra slippery: TUSQ XL® is impregnated with Teflon® (500% more slippery than graphite). During tremolo bends, the strings slide in the slots, returning to accurate pitch.

Dense and resonant: Pressure-formed TUSQ transfers string energy more efficiently, without dead spots found in natural materials. Guitars come alive with enhanced harmonics, volume and sustain.

Pre-shaped: Slotted or unslotted, they require only minor trimming.




/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Black TUSQ XL Nuts
Black TUSQ XL Nuts
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 49 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 41 – 49 < 1  ...  3  4  5
5 12-24-2010
great product

Just installed this on my acoustic. Tone and projection are improved! Thanks for a great product!

Slash671  Guam Read my reviews (29)
5 12-15-2010
No more troubles with tuning stability

The only one real solution with tuning stability problems in my guitar (due to string tension on the nut). Even graphite lube didn't help longer than a couple of weeks, but now all's just pretty fine.

A. Mantush  Minsk, Belarus Read my reviews (3)
5 11-25-2010
1868 - Black Tusq XL Unslotted for Gibson

Excellent quality product that is not just an equally performing substitute for bone for guitars that require a different aesthetic, but actually a superior product. Cuts fast, polishes well, and works as advertised: it really does stop strings binding.

Greg Robinson - Guitar & Amplifier Technician  Melbourne, Australia Read my reviews (54)
5 10-29-2010
Tusq XL Nut

Once I filed down the bottom of the nut to be smooth so that it fit flush against the neck, the fit was perfect - nice and tight. Nice also to have string grooves precut. Tone and sustain for open string sounds are just great. Great value for the money!

adrian z  debary fl Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
3 9-29-2010
Black Tusq XL Nut

Hard to give a review on something that could not be used. I bought this for a home build and found that even though I bought the tallest one they had it was still too short to use. Nothing really strange about my bass 1/4" fretboard with an 11 deg. headstock.

Moosewood  Chico.Ca.
5 9-08-2010
Black Tusq XL Nut

Normally, I don't bother with reviews, but this nut saved my bacon. I modified a friend's '83 Charvel to simplify string changes. I scrapped the locking nut. The Black Tusq nut went right on in place of the Floyd Rose locker. Putting the strings on backwards is all the lock you need. That's ball-ends at the machine heads. They can't slip. I spent 2 hours doing insane dives, and once everything bedded in, it never lost tune. This nut opens the tone up, too. With the locking junk gone, the string paths are now uninterrupted. The Gibson style nut fit right on the Charvel. The action was exactly the same as before. I have a graphite nut on my custom StratZilla, and it has always played well. I'll definitely be pushing these alongside my own custom nut and saddle sets I make. Thanks.
PS: Those JLD Bridge Doctor things work wonders. I've installed 3 of them for people. Good stuff, y'all!

the axeman  Texas Read my reviews (10)
5 8-23-2010
Totally Recommended

There is nothing better out there for tremolo guitars.

josh66*josh66  Puerto Rico Read my reviews (4)
5 7-30-2010
A Slippy Landing For Strings En Route To The Tuning Keys

The popularity for these Tusq nuts is well deserved. I have recommended and installed these for clients for over 10 years now. Everybody including me is very happy with their functionality and good looks.

Steve Williams  Crossett, AR
5 5-29-2010
Best Nuts around. This is the only nut I will use on Alexander James custom guitars.

Great nuts. No string binding and helps the guitar stay perfectly in tune. I will never try another product. I use these nuts on every Alexander James Guitar that I build. I have never been disappointed.

Alexander James Guitars  Canada Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 41 – 49 < 1  ...  3  4  5 /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 18 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce