Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Nuts, saddles : String nuts : Black TUSQ XL Nuts

Black TUSQ XL Nuts


Read 49 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Self-lubricating nuts from Graph Tech are ideal for string bending and tremolo work. Now in more sizes!

See details below

Email a friend
Black TUSQ XL Nuts
 

For Fender® guitars and basses
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Black TUSQ XL Nuts  1865  Black, unslotted
1-3/4" x 1/4" x 1/8"
(44.45mm x 6.20mm x 3.17mm)
10" (254mm) top radius; flat bottom
Yes
$13.35
6 or more $6.99  
12 or more $6.29  

Black TUSQ XL Nuts  1866  Black, slotted for guitar
1-3/8" (35.18mm) string spread
1-11/16" x 7/32" x 1/8"
(42.93mm x 5.33mm x 3.35mm)
7-1/4" (184.15mm) top and bottom radius
Yes
$13.35
6 or more $6.99  
12 or more $6.29  

Black TUSQ XL Nuts  1884  Black, slotted for guitar
1-3/8" (35.18mm) string spread
1-3/4" x 1/4" x 1/8"
(44.45mm x 6.20mm x 3.35mm)
7-1/4" (184.15mm) top radius; flat bottom
Yes
$13.35
6 or more $6.99  
12 or more $6.29  


For Gibson® guitars
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Black TUSQ XL Nuts  1868  Black, unslotted
1-29/32" x 3/8" x 3/16"
(48.39mm x 9.52mm x 4.88mm)
12" (304.80mm) top radius
Yes
$13.35
6 or more $6.99  
12 or more $6.29  

Black TUSQ XL Nuts  1869  Black, slotted
1-7/16" (36.20mm) string spread
1-3/4" x 11/32" x 3/16"
(44.07mm x 8.36mm x 4.98mm)
16" (406.40mm) top radius
Yes
$13.35
6 or more $6.99  
12 or more $6.29  


For Epiphone® guitars
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Black TUSQ XL Nuts  1873  Black, slotted
1-3/8" (34.54mm) string spread
1-23/32" x 11/32" x 1/4"
(43.84mm x 8.89mm x 6.10mm)
15" (381.00mm) top radius
Yes
$13.35
6 or more $6.99  
12 or more $6.29  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

TUSQ XL Nuts



String Saver Classic Saddles



String Saver Saddles



String Saver Tune-o-matic Saddles



String Spacing Rule



TUSQ XL Nuts
String Saver Classic Saddles
String Saver Saddles
String Saver Tune-o-matic Saddles
String Spacing Rule



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
Extra slippery: TUSQ XL® is impregnated with Teflon® (500% more slippery than graphite). During tremolo bends, the strings slide in the slots, returning to accurate pitch.

Dense and resonant: Pressure-formed TUSQ transfers string energy more efficiently, without dead spots found in natural materials. Guitars come alive with enhanced harmonics, volume and sustain.

Pre-shaped: Slotted or unslotted, they require only minor trimming.




/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Black TUSQ XL Nuts
Black TUSQ XL Nuts
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 49 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  5 >
2 6-07-2012
Accurate but Crude Finish

Slots were correctly placed and shaped but the finish was very rough. Not of the quality that I require for my instruments.

The Lefty Luthier  Spring Branch, Texas Read my reviews (40)
5 3-14-2012
Lovin these nuts!

These nuts are very high quality and sized perfectly for Stew-Mac fingerboards. We use them exclusively

Trident Guitars  Berkley, Michigan Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-11-2012
Great tuning stability

A few minutes of careful sanding is all that's needed to get these nuts to fit. Smooth, easy tuning and the strings no longer bind in the nut. Great tuning stability. A must have for players that play hard and do a lot of hard string bending.

Joey A  Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada Read my reviews (4)
5 1-25-2012
Awesome

Really works great. Had to do a little shaving on the bottom edge to get a perfect fit, but these really are nice.

rhutch  Pasadena, CA Read my reviews (7)
5 12-21-2011
good quality

a little sanding is required to get these to fit, but nothing unsual. they work and sound great

Calgar C  Ottawa Read my reviews (3)
5 10-28-2011
Awesome

Replaced the plastic nut on my Might Mite neck and immediately noticed a difference.

Lindy  Annapolis, MD Read my reviews (3)
5 8-20-2011
The perfect string nut every time! Cellini Custom Guitars/Las Vegas,Nv.

What can I say, these are awesome! Every time I build a new guitar, this is my string nut of choice. Just a little sanding and polishing of the sides and maybe the bottom a little bit and that's it! Ready to go!

Eric C.  Las Vegas,Nv. Read my reviews (16)
Customer supplied image for review
5 7-17-2011
Perfect for the right applications

I do mods & repairs for friends, & StewMac is one of the few places I was able to locate a Fender-form black Tusq with the flat bottom (as opposed to the three-point "universal"), & at a very competitive price in bulk. As some other reviewers have noted, these probably won't last forever, but while I'm not a dive-bomb fanatic, I've personally killed brass, bone, & Micarta. I tell my clients that anyone who needs longevity & doesn't want to have a new nut installed every year should go for a roller or a locker. It's simply darned handy to have a pre-slotted drop-in replacement, made from top-grade materials -- the things even "clink" like bone. My clients are impressed, & I save time.

Tony Raven  Crookston, MN
5 6-28-2011
Great Product

I just got done rebuilding an American Standard Strat and I put this nut on it. Not only did it fit perfectly, but I can use the tremelo a lot more without having to retune. I also did a full custom job on my B.C. Rich Warlock and one of the things I did was replace the stock plastic nut with one of the black tusq nuts sized for a Gibson. The string spacing is just right. The only modification I had to do with this nut is to tril it to size from side to side just over a millimeter. But other than that, it fit great. I only had to retune it once after restringing for the strings to set, and scince then, it's been dead on. I LOVE IT. Right now I am doing a full custom job on my Dean Razorback and I am going to definitely use the Black Tusq XL nut on it as well. It's hard to find a better nut.

Michael C.  Asbury Park, NJ Read my reviews (6)
5 6-27-2011
Superb tuning with Bigsby

I have a semi-hollow with Bigsby that would not stay in tune properly and this did the trick. Yamaha TVL, and the Epiphone sized nut fit perfectly. Just sand down the sided and the bottom a touch to get the right height and it was there. I have nut files and have used bone a lot, but this holds tune better than any material I have used. Will be installing more of these... Can not speak for longevity of the nut yet, but the slickness and quality of the nut itself are top notch.

Dallas  South Dakota Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  5 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 18 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce