Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Vises : Nut and Saddle Vise

Nut and Saddle Vise


Read 55 Reviews   |   Write a Review

A better way to hold nuts and saddles for easier, faster shaping.

See details below

Email a friend
Nut and Saddle Vise

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1816 Nut and Saddle Vise Yes
$35.45


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Bleached White Bone Nuts



Understring Radius Gauges



Bleached White Bone Saddles



Gauged Nut Slotting Files



Essential Nut Making Tool Kit



Bleached White Bone Nuts
Understring Radius Gauges
Bleached White Bone Saddles
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Essential Nut Making Tool Kit



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Articles
Sure, most of us already have a shop vise. And for a long time, you've probably used yours to hold nuts and saddles for filing and shaping. But you've also noticed that your vise jaws get in the way when you're trying to file the top of that nut or saddle, so you're constantly repositioning the work in the jaws.

We considered the problem and designed a special vise that gives you the clearance you need for an easier and more efficient job.

The custom jaws are extra tall, with steep angles for easier access to your work. The end of the vise is beveled for extra relief, too. The 2"-wide steel jaws are hardened for durability and specially undercut to stay parallel under pressure, holding the nut or saddle uniformly without slippage.

For other jobs, the jaws open to 2-7/16", making it versatile for gripping all kinds of small work. This is a well-made, heavy little portable steel vise with a 2" x 5-5/8" footprint; you can clamp it to the edge of your workbench, or into your larger shop vise.

The Nut and Saddle Vise is included in the Essential Nut Making Tool Kit, which has all the basic tools you'll need for shaping, string-spacing, slotting and fitting string nuts like a pro.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Nut and Saddle Vise
Nut and Saddle Vise
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 55 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 41 – 50 < 1  ...  4  5  6 >
5 5-09-2011
Vise

Works nice. Built like a tank. Do you really need it.....no. But it does make some things a lot easier. Also, if you do a lot of projects other than guitar or a lot around the house I guarantee you'll use it.

Jerhico Guitars  Altona, NY Read my reviews (51)
1 4-06-2011
Cute but not so sure?

I love the quality and the idea of this little vise but WHAT DO YOU NEED IT FOR?? I bought this when I bought the video and other tools but after watching the Dan Erlewine video I realized you don't need it, just a belt sander. It's still cute though

BigKahuna  Brownsville, OR. Read my reviews (2)
5 3-14-2011
Works great, sturdy

This vice is the perfect size to hold nuts for shaping. I'm so glad i bought this as it's very difficult to fit a nut in a clamp or work bench vice. The vice is very heavy. It's so heavy it has great stability without mounting. When you aren't using it just store it out of the way. This was a great purchase and the price is right.

Goodin  Knoxville, TN, USA Read my reviews (15)
5 2-09-2011
Excellent

This is a must have tool for people who work with guitars...Has no flaws!

Guilherme Brederode  Lisboa, Portugal Read my reviews (11)
5 1-12-2011
Great tool

I had no idea I would use this vice for so much. One of my favorite tools that I have bought from Stew Mac.

Ray Simonetti Instruments  Spring, TX Read my reviews (5)
5 1-04-2011
Good Vise

This little vise works absolutely fantastic. I need it every day in my shop. It´s a must have for every professional luthier.

Christian Doerr Master-Luthier  Neustadt an der Weinstrasse Germany Read my reviews (2)
4 1-03-2011
Handy vice

Size of jaws lets you get close to the blank, price is great, machining is good too. Would like to see some kind of simple clamping base or swivel base for this product that was equally affordable.

Mark Stutman  Ontario, Canada Read my reviews (4)
5 12-10-2010
The perfect vise for nuts and saddles.

More precise, accurate and faster results on nut and saddle work.

Torres Luthier  Houston, Texas
5 11-30-2010
Nuts about this vice!

I've been using mine to make between 10-15 saddles & nuts a day for the last 5 years and it's still working perfectly! Thanks STEWMAC

TREEROOT  Towcester, Northampton, U.K.
Customer supplied image for review
5 10-06-2010
Finally bought it

This had been on my wish list for years so I finally decided to get it. I have a vise like it for my drill press but I did not a way to make the special plates for the jaws. This vise is perfect for the job and of very fine quality.

RDHMoore  Oakville, ON, Canada Read my reviews (5)
Displaying 41 – 50 < 1  ...  4  5  6 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 20 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce