Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Fretting : Fret Puller

Fret Puller


Read 40 Reviews   |   Write a Review

This tool is just for pulling, not cutting, frets. Its spring-loaded flush-ground 1/2" jaws are small enough for a better bite.

See details below

Email a friend
Fret Puller
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1637 Fret Puller Yes
$26.45


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Chip Stoppers



StewMac Wide Fretwire



Double-edge Fret File



Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files



Fretting Hammer



Chip Stoppers
StewMac Wide Fretwire
Double-edge Fret File
Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files
Fretting Hammer



Details
 Pictures
It helps reduce wood chip-out, and does a better job of getting under frets and lifting them than wider cutters. Comfortable rubber-coated handles.

Chip-free fret jobs: try the Fret Puller with our Chip Stoppers, and forever change the way you remove frets.

Works on stainless frets, too!
All of our tools are suitable for use on stainless-steel fretwire, with the exception of our Fret Tang Nippers and Fret Cutters. Modern stainless-steel fretwire is known to be harder than the traditional nickel-silver blends, but our own shop experience indicates the wire does not cause premature wear of files or sandpapers.
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Fret Puller
Fret Puller
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 40 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  2  3  4
4 6-22-2011
I Bit the Bullet...

For years I used a set of ground-down Nippers for pulling frets, and they worked fine. But a couple years back, I had a vintage Martin come in that were far more valuable than anything I'd ever refretted. After talking with its owner, I bought these pullers.

They work EXTREMELY well, with far less chipping than with modified nippers. They might seem expensive at first, but if you're working on high-end guitars, or want the absolute cleanest refret possible, I'd highly recommend them.

MacDonnell Guitars  USA Read my reviews (5)
4 5-02-2011
Comfortable, controllable

I make or alter most of my tools in one way or another to fit me. The fret puller set I got recently were comfortable and controllable. No need to alter them. Easy to travel with

Sam Eakins

Sam Eakins  Duncan,SC Read my reviews (5)
5 3-16-2011
excellent results

I was removing the frets on a 1967 fender coronado using a bigger puller than this, and found it hard not to get under the very worn down frets, also it was chipping too much so got these and they have been excellent, less chipping and good results

Jasper Vincent  Brighton, UK Read my reviews (2)
5 3-01-2011
quick and effective

I use these on every fret job and so far no completes. Just take your time and go from one end to the other and they do a great job.

DT Hawkins-Custom Guitar Tech  Clarksburg WV Read my reviews (11)
3 12-16-2010
An ok product and effective

The tool is effective but it can easily get damage on the puller edges. The real annoyance with the product is the spring mechanism to return the puller to open. The two halves keep slipping out of alignment.

KL  Christchurch, New Zealand Read my reviews (33)
1 12-05-2010
overpriced and not really needed?

These just seem way pricey and a little under quality for a job a good pair of end nippers will do.

RLowVaughn  Boise, Id. Read my reviews (19)
4 11-14-2010
good

A lot of the tools stew mac sells can be fashioned yourself for less perhaps, but some people don't have the time or setup. These get the job done.

James Love  Z-Tron Read my reviews (18)
4 11-07-2010
Shop staple

If you know how to remove frets, you will find that this tool works wonderfully. It's a permanent part of my fretting tool collection.

GuitarRepairShack  Calgary, Alberta Read my reviews (20)
5 9-17-2010
specialty tools

Although the previous reviews give this thumbs down, I would say whether using this fret puller or the bigger one you have to learn to walk it across the fretboard and make sure the fret is able to come out without chipping the board if at all possible. Sometimes I have had to keep the soldering unit on the fret longer especially if there is glue underneath the fret. These little specialty tools if used in the right way are quite nice. These smaller fret pullers are also good for just getting under the fret ends as well and then using the bigger ones to walk the fret out of the slot.

gearhead  usa
1 9-16-2010
Poor quality and overpriced.

Mine broke on the 2nd neck I used it on.

David L  Los Angeles, CA
StewMac responds

David L,
We're sorry to hear these broke after limited use. We're happy to offer a full refund or exchange. We really appreciate you speaking up about this problem.

Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  2  3  4 /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 11 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce