Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Electronics, pickups : Components: Caps (capacitors) : Ceramic Caps

Ceramic Caps


Read 42 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Our most popular capacitors; they get the job done at a great price.
Pack of 10.

See details below

Email a friend
Ceramic Caps
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1294 180pF, pack of 10 Yes
$3.49
5 or more $2.98  

1290 .001uF, pack of 10 Yes
$3.49
5 or more $2.98  

1291 .022uF, pack of 10 Yes
$3.49
5 or more $2.98  

1292 .047uF, pack of 10 Yes
$4.49
5 or more $3.59  

1293 .100uF, pack of 10 Yes
$4.99
5 or more $3.99  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Golden Age Treble Bleed Circuit

CTS Control Pots



150K-ohm 1/4-watt Resistor



Alpha Control Pots



Orange Drop Caps



Golden Age Treble Bleed Circuit
CTS Control Pots
150K-ohm 1/4-watt Resistor
Alpha Control Pots
Orange Drop Caps



Details
 Pictures
Articles
Capacitors are energy-storage devices that filter the high frequencies. A cap lets the tone control roll off the treble response, progressively warming the tone. The higher the value, the more bass output from the tone control at its "zero" setting.

A cap wired to a potentiometer creates a standard tone control, as explained in this Article: How a tone control works.

Value Code Common use
180pF 181 PRS Treble bleed
.001uF 102Z Common Treble bleed
.022uF 223 Humbucker tone
.047uF 473 Single-coil guitars, many basses
.100uF 104 Basses and certain eras of vintage Fender guitars


/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Ceramic Caps
Ceramic Caps
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 42 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  5 >
5 2-19-2012
Capacitors...What can you say?

I am not a capacitor expert but these seemed to be well constructed. I used them and a 6-way rotary switch to make my own Varitone-like control. They provided what I wanted but let me add that I added a (Stew-Mac) "Black Ice Cube" to the last position on the switch and that made it unique..Check it out B B King (sir).

Pat Sullivan  Jacksonville, FL
5 1-12-2012
good tone

Good tone with cheep price I use always for wiring job

niponz  Thailand Read my reviews (31)
Customer supplied image for review
5 12-19-2011
Very good.

Very good,,works well.

Denys  Gatineau,Quebec,Canada Read my reviews (8)
4 11-10-2011
Average

I use it for low budget re-wirings.

Claudio Kezen  Brazil Read my reviews (18)
4 11-03-2011
Pretty good

I got the 0.047 for the tone control on my LP. No problems. Did exactly what I wanted them to do. They are kind of dinky which would be good for a small control cavity.

Josh Hohensee  Nashville TN Read my reviews (7)
5 10-28-2011
Change the cap for different tone.

On a recent build I decided to use a different value cap on each pot for tone in a Les Paul with hot pickups and it worked out as expected. Now it growls and sings and harmonizes depending on where the switch is set.

Hairsmith/Luthier  Littleton, NH Read my reviews (2)
4 10-04-2011
enough cap for small maoney

Pretty good caps, I've used 0.020 mf with 500K linear tone pot and 0.001 mf as a treble-bleed. Tone cap is quite good, giving you some warmth without losing the high mid-range. 0.001 as a treble bleed works excelent until you'll turn gain higher. With Shadow SH680 pickup & some overdrive cap makes possible to drop the gain, without any loss in top end. But with crancked gain it's almost impossible to get noticable drop of gain to make sound more clean. Hope you guys will also get 300K resistors to your store for solving this problem. I'll recomend it as treble bleed with dark sounding pickups with small top end, but if you have good treble output from pickups (especially lead pickup)look somewhere else.

A. Mantush  Minsk, Belarus Read my reviews (3)
5 9-12-2011
they all sound the same when the tone pot is on 10

don't be fooled by cap hype! get these!

David S  Seattle, WA Read my reviews (18)
4 8-12-2011
Good quality...!!

On my guitar tone control works very good!!!!!!!!

Tufoeffect  Rio Claro - SP - Brazil Read my reviews (11)
5 7-01-2011
Top cap

A good product to have in different sizes to experiment with the changes they can make to your tone. Just don't confuse the different sizes up like I did.

TomL  Sydney,Australia Read my reviews (16)
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  5 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 50 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce