Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Bridges, tailpieces : Electric guitar, Tune-o-matic bridges : Golden Age Roller Bridge

Golden Age Roller Bridge


Read 53 Reviews   |   Write a Review

The only roller bridge that matches the 12" radius of the Nashville Tune-O-Matic. Low-friction brass roller saddles let the strings move freely and return to accurate pitch.

See details below

Email a friend
Golden Age Roller Bridge
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1275 Chrome Yes
$34.95
3 or more $31.95  

1275-G Gold Yes
$39.95
3 or more $36.95  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Bigsby B5 Vibrato



Bigsby B50 Vibrato



Tri-Flow Pin Point Lubricator



Bigsby B7 Vibrato



Model B70 Bigsby Vibrato



Bigsby B5 Vibrato
Bigsby B50 Vibrato
Tri-Flow Pin Point Lubricator
Bigsby B7 Vibrato
Model B70 Bigsby Vibrato



Details
 Pictures
Specs
We designed this bridge to work with Bigsby vibratos, in place of the Nashville Tune-o-matic. This is the only roller bridge that matches the 12" radius of the Nashville, so you maintain the string action you're used to. We gave it a low profile to keep the strings clear of the bridge body too, eliminating a frequent source of vibrato problems.

Thumbwheel height-adjustment studs and knurled bushings are included.

String spread   Saddle radius   Stud spacing   Stud threads   
2-1/16"12"2-29/32"M5 x .8


About bridge & tailpiece measurements

String spread is the distance between the centers of the outer strings on a bridge or tailpiece.

Saddle radius determines the arc formed by all the individual saddle heights, and is similar to the measurement of a fretboard.

Stud/post spacing is the distance between the centers of the mounting posts of a bridge or 'stop' tailpiece.




/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Golden Age Roller Bridge
Golden Age Roller Bridge
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 53 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5  6 >
5 8-18-2013
Another Roller Bridge

I stuck the Golden Age Roller Bridge on my 15 year old Les Paul Special II. Works as advertised. The best thing about this purchase was the customer service. I was sent a Roller Bridge that was missing the retainer clip on one of the adjustment screws. I advised StewMac of the problem, and within hours a brand new bridge was in the mail, accompanied by a postage paid return label. Incredible! Without sending back the defective bridge first! Great products from a great company. Thank you Stewart MacDonald!

Bob Day  Conconully, Wa Read my reviews (2)
5 8-12-2013
Golden Age Roller

Same old complaints with the "Tune-O-Matic" or whatever they call it; I ordered the roller from StewMac and it arrived in 3 days, much to my surprise. I liked the style of the Schaller except for one major design flaw; the rollers are set on a threaded axle to allow for string spacing. Nice idea; very poor design. The roller will shift and must be reset every time the strings are changed. I really don't see the need for this particular adjustment; I prefer my strings to have consistent and equal spacing and I don't need to change that. The golden Age uses set rollers that stay equally spaced. What a concept. The bridge body styling is extremely similar to the Schaller; aesthetically there is no difference (in my opinion). It's a drop-in replacement on the LP and I was truly amazed at the ease of adjustment for both height and intonation. Neither adjustment requires loosening the strings. Adjustments are smooth with absolutely zero friction. Impossible with the stock bridge unless one wants to ruin the screw heads. Bending notes is an unbelievable experience; I can bend notes into next week with no loss of pitch and no broken strings. Sustain? It hasn't quit yet. I was concerned with the quality of such an inexpensive piece; I've always trusted Schaller and realize, as others have stated, that "you get what you pay for". This time I got a little bit more. A world-class roller bridge with a 12" radius to match my fretboard. The quality is second to none, and if it were not, StewMac's return policy had me covered anyway. Best 40 bucks I've spent in quite some time. Well, there was this girl at the last party we played... Highly recommended (the Golden Age Bridge) for any LP; tremolo or not. I'd throw in a 6th star for shear happiness if I could.

Psycho Billy's  Portland, OR, U.S.A.
5 8-07-2013
Super FAST!

Order went through 8/5 and was delivered 8/7 at 9:15am. Installation was drop in on my Gibson Les Paul Studio. Wish I'd have ordered the Bigsby from you too. I'd be jammin' right now instead of waiting for it to arrive.

D.A.  Clinton, OK Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
4 8-07-2013
A twelve inch radius at last!

I have spent hours modifying 14" radius bridges to 12", going so far as to start building my own from scratch...even more hours! This bridge provides good tone, and works well with a tremolo. Watch out for the little brass rollers though...they do pop out on occasion, and are very hard to find on the shop floor! Perhaps you could take a look at the Schaller approach, which adds variable string-widths to the features list.

CJ Beuhler  Saskatchewan, Canada Read my reviews (6)
5 7-10-2013
Exceeded Expectations!

I went with the Golden Age Roller because I LOVE the fact that it matches the 12" radius of my fretboard, and that the rollers are brass. I love the tones I get from my PRS Stripped 58 with the brass saddles. Anyway, with the standard tune-o-matic, the strings would bind up on the back of the bridge body and did not travel through the saddles well. Even gentle Bigsby use would cause terrible tuning issues. Now that I installed the Golden Age Roller...I LOVE this guitar! The tuning stability is SPOT ON! The strings clear the body of the bridge because it is designed as a "low profile" piece for this exact purpose. The brass rollers are smooth and roll with no friction that I can feel, and are machined perfectly into the bridge in a way that completely avoids any looseness or rattle. I was a little skeptical when I ordered this bridge because it was such a good value...and I always figure "you get what you pay for". But...in this case anyway...I feel I got WAY more than I paid for with the Golden Age Roller. I can't recommend it any higher...ESPECIALLY if your guitar has a 12" fretboard radius!

Ancient Rocker  Minnesota
Customer supplied image for review
5 7-05-2013
Drop in roller

Wanted a roller to replace the crap-o-matic with the wire retainer that came on my G L P Studio. It buzzed and rattled and I hated it. E-mailed Stew-Mac and got a quick response with recommendations. After I did a few measurements, I opted for the Golden Age chrome and I'm sure glad I did. All I had to do was unthread my posts and thread the Golden Age posts back in and drop the new bridge in place. Works great, looks great, I swear it plays better than ever. Nice quality for a decent price and easy installation, couldn't ask for much more. Also thanks Stew-Mac for the fast shipping!

T.D.  Washington The State
5 6-20-2013
Gibson Les Paul dlx - Golden bridge

The Stock bridge that came with the guitar is not bad ,i was going to use this and remove the plasticnut on a Epiphone but first figured the Gibson already had premium parts ,it was a great move,a direct dropin replacement. One thing though,you will have to readjust the neck ,height, and intonation ,no big deal that being done there is for sure better sustain And tone is a bit better,fot $35 it is much better quality then the Korean made wilkerson,these to have readiused rollers the lesser ones do not When replacing string s, do both E strings first To keep pressure on the bridge and notmessup the adjustments. Thanks much to the feedback From the Gibson site for the tips.

Paul Let  Ma.
5 6-09-2013
Great Bridge

I bought this Bridge to replace the one on my Epiphone Dot, which kept popping the E strings when I would bend notes. On my Fender's I would never have a problem because they had roller style bridges, but the Eppy would not make it through a whole show. I am very happpy with this great Bridge. I have better sustain and with the help of a friend, it set up easily. I can't wait to use it on our next show. Simply remove the original posts, gently tap the new splean with a rubber mallet into the old one till it is flush, (Use Vasaline to lube the part beforehand and some foam under the guitar to absorb the shock)screw the new post in and set up your bridge. BTW, the intonation is almost set on it and required very little tweeking. Great Bridge!

Long time player  East Haven, CT
5 6-02-2013
Great Design.

I have always preferred a roller bridge whenever available. The Golden Age roller bridge from Stew-Mac is perfect for the current Gibson Les Paul project I have. The 12" radius of the Golden Age is perfect for Gibsons because Stew-Mac had the foresight to make it so as opposed to the 14" radius on the Schaller. The low profile is not only comfortable but really keeps the strings off the back of the bridge. No mods were necessary at all when replacing the Gibson Nashville Tune-O-Matic. Great design, Guys. Thanks!

Griff  Farmington, AR Read my reviews (10)
5 4-09-2013
Epi Wildkat

Bought this to put on my Epihone Wildkat that has Bigsby and non roller bridge which to me doesn't make sense. Like others, I found the adjustment studs were the wrong size but with a few taps of a hammer the new ones fit right inside the existing threaded holes and I would imagine if I had to I could pull them out and still use the originals. My only other problem was, and I don't know if this is an Epi thing, but the stud spacing was slightly off and the holes had to be elongated by about 0.010" or so each to make it fit. After all this, it fit very snugly with no rocking whatsoever and it is the only roller bridge I was able to find with the 12" radius.

HPO  Indiana
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5  6 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 63 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce