Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Finishing supplies : Hand polishing : ColorTone Polishing Compounds

ColorTone Polishing Compounds


Read 75 Reviews   |   Write a Review

The final step for a beautiful finish. Available in shop-size containers, or in 4-ounce bottles for smaller jobs.

See details below

Email a friend
ColorTone Polishing Compounds
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1202 Medium, 1.65 lb. jar Yes
$22.65

1203 Fine 1.65 lb. jar Yes
$22.65

1204 Swirl Remover, 16-oz. bottle Yes
$22.65

1205 Set of 3 large sizes SAVE $4.00 Yes
$63.95

1844 Coarse, 4-oz. bottle Yes
$7.95

1845 Medium, 4-oz. bottle Yes
$7.95

1846 Fine 4-oz. bottle Yes
$7.95

1847 Swirl Remover, 4-oz. bottle Yes
$7.95

1848 Set of 4 small sizes SAVE $4.00 Yes
$27.80


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Foam Polishing Pads



Sandpaper / Finishing Paper Sampler



Micro-Mesh Finishing Abrasives Kit



Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step



Preservation Polish



Foam Polishing Pads
Sandpaper / Finishing Paper Sampler
Micro-Mesh Finishing Abrasives Kit
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
Preservation Polish



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
A customer described it best: ColorTone® polishing compounds make the magic happen! Used by hand with a soft cloth or with foam rotary polishing pads, they transform a fine-sanded new finish into a dazzling high-gloss surface you can be proud of. ColorTone compounds remove fine sanding scratches on instrument finishes and plastic pickguards, with no silicone residue to hamper future refinishing.

If you're final-sanding a new finish with 600 to 800-grit papers, begin the polishing sequence with Coarse compound. If final sanding is done with 1200-grit, start with Medium compound. Fine compound follows Medium when a super-high gloss is desired.

Swirl Remover applied with a foam rotary pad removes buffing marks and extremely fine sanding scratches on fresh finishes. It can also be used by hand to bring out a higher lustre on new or aged finishes.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
ColorTone Polishing Compounds
ColorTone Polishing Compounds
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 75 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 61 – 70 < 1  ...  6  7  8 >
5 4-01-2011
Buen resultado

He utilizado el Medium, a partir de lija 1000, con buenos resultados

Jose Luis  Zaragoza, EspaƱa
5 4-01-2011
very nice

I have a few projects on the go (just waiting for it to get a bit warmer) so I have been getting my supplies ready.
This polish (swirl remover) works great! I have also got the med polish but will not be able to review that for about a month or so. Great product, speedy delivery thanks again Stewmac you do what you say you are going to do!

GuitarTron  Canada Read my reviews (17)
4 3-27-2011
Bad Containers

The medium polishing compound worked great but the container is a piece of crap. Really hard to open and even harder to close. I needed to clamp it in a vise and turn the top with vise grips. Getting the top back on was also a challenge. Really cheap thin plastic container. At this price I would expect something better.

Tonype3  Ohio Read my reviews (2)
5 3-20-2011
Liquid Plasma Sandpaper

Great stuff. Who would have ever thought that sandpaper could be taken from it's paper form and made into a compound which is basically what this is. Use the Colortone compounds from course and work your way up to medium, fine, then finish up with the swirl remover. Our shop has 4 different Stewmac polishing pads for each level. With patience you can a shine like glass as shown in on our Schecter sample photo below. Yes, that's a reflection of clouds in the sky.

TommyGuitars  Osaka, Japan Read my reviews (25)
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-10-2011
Great Stuff

Medium, Fine, Swirl Remover. You can use the Medium by itself to buff out light scratches, and sanded down drop fills. Follow it with the Fine and the Swirl Remover, and WOW.

Mike T.  North Carolina, USA Read my reviews (24)
5 2-17-2011
Good stuff.

Very high quality compound for polishing finishes and whatnot.

Earl Cobb  Richland, Ga Read my reviews (10)
5 2-09-2011
ColorTone Polishing Compounds

Simple to use, very useful

Beppe Manconi  Italy Read my reviews (2)
5 2-06-2011
Swirl Remover

This stuff works miracles. It is absolutely amazing and does just what it says. I could not believe how easy it is to use and the results were beyond expectations. If there was a way to give it more than 5 stars I would.

dwcpsc  South Africa Read my reviews (3)
5 12-16-2010
Really worth it!

I bought the medium and fine polishing compounds to get a good finish on my first ever guitar. It has a nitro lacquer finish that I wet sanded to 2000, then started with the medium. It is easy to use and doesn't take that much elbow grease. Afterward, I buffed it out with a clean cloth, then used the fine. That's when the magic happened - it seemed to smooth, harden and polish somehow, so I wound up with a great finish.

I completed the job by rubbing everything hard with a lint-free cloth and that really brought out a luster and depth that I thought I could never manage using only rattle cans and hand polishing. It not only looks professional, but high-end.

Barnaby  Tokyo, Japan Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 12-09-2010
Shine Shine Shine

Just simply awesome stuff!

Heifer1  Rogers, AR Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 61 – 70 < 1  ...  6  7  8 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 41 of our latest catalog.


ColorTone® is a registered trademark of Stewart-MacDonald Manufacturing Company, Inc.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce