Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Bindings, trim : Wood binding and purfling : Laminated Wood Purfling

Laminated Wood Purfling


Read 26 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Laminates of maple and black fiber used to decorated instruments. These trim strips can be "sandwiched" for additional combinations.

See details below

Email a friend
Laminated Wood Purfling
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1761 0.020" (0.51mm) b/w Yes
$2.15
6 or more $1.93  

1762 0.040" (1.02mm) b/w Yes
$2.15
6 or more $1.93  

1763 0.040" (1.02mm) w/b/w Yes
$2.30
6 or more $2.08  

1028 0.060" (1.52mm) w/b/w Yes
$2.68
6 or more $2.39  

1764 0.040" (1.02mm) b/w/b Yes
$2.68
6 or more $2.39  

1765 0.060" (1.52mm) b/w/b Yes
$2.68
6 or more $2.39  

1766 0.047" (1.19mm) b/w/b/w Yes
$2.86
6 or more $2.58  

1767 0.080" (2.03mm) b/w/b/w Yes
$2.86
6 or more $2.58  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Titebond Wood Glue



Titebond Liquid Hide Glue



Behlen Ground Hide Glue



Electric Glue Pot



Soundhole and Rosette Routing Jig



Titebond Wood Glue
Titebond Liquid Hide Glue
Behlen Ground Hide Glue
Electric Glue Pot
Soundhole and Rosette Routing Jig



Details
 Pictures
Articles
Each strip is 7/64" (2.78mm) deep and 31-1/2" (800mm) long.

b = black fiber
w = undyed natural maple

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Laminated Wood Purfling
Laminated Wood Purfling
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 26 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 >
5 11-20-2011
Laminated purfling & wood binding

Consistent quality. You know it's quality coming from SMD. Pics show laminate and wood binding all from SMD. A few more steps and these pics were taken and off to their new owners. aken about 3 months ago.

Don Noonan  Easley, SC Read my reviews (9)
Customer supplied image for review
5 11-09-2011
The best

This is the best you can buy. It's a shame I have to pay import taxes...

iniminimi  Knokke-Heist, Belgium Read my reviews (4)
2 11-06-2011
Well made but not the size advertised

The purflings I received were well made and even, but completely useless to me because they were actually 0.010"x0.010"x0.010" rather than 0.010"x0.020"x0.010" which they're advertised as being, so I couldn't do mitred joins with the laminated binding I ordered with it which had those correct measurements, so it made the bindings useless to me as well.

I was offered a refund, but it's not worth my time or effort to return either, and is a pain to find another supplier and pay extra shipping costs to them that I wouldn't have to have paid had they sent me what is advertised. I ordered it quite a while ago but the website still advertises them as the wrong size, so beware! Very disappointed..

Nothing Is Real  Ontario, Canada Read my reviews (3)
3 10-16-2011
Too Short

These bindings are nicely made and the white is very bright. Unfortunately these strips are too short to go around larger guitars.

Mark Lacey  Nashville Read my reviews (3)
5 9-24-2011
Dead easy to bend

Very bendable with minimum water usage.

GavinB  Perth, Australia Read my reviews (26)
5 9-23-2011
Excellent Quality

Very easy to use, very consistant. It is white and black, no color variations, so make sure thats what you are looking for. Bends great, dont even need to steam it.

TisDale Custom Guitars  Renton, WA, USA Read my reviews (52)
Customer supplied image for review
5 8-08-2011
Trustworthy quality

These purfling strips are, without exception, perfectly consistent, high-quality, flexible, easy to steam or heat bend and consistent in colour. One of the most trusted raw materials in my workshop.

JGS Guitars  South Africa Read my reviews (11)
Customer supplied image for review
5 6-01-2011
Laminated wood purfling

Consistent dimensions and so much more user friendly than plastic purfling. A luthier can count on the glue holding!

KC  Henderson, NV Read my reviews (3)
5 5-04-2011
laminated wood purfling

I have now tried several types of laminations from Stew. Mac.. The laminations all are of a consistent quality and really add to the beauty of the instruments I use them on.

Henry Doell  Saskatoon Read my reviews (3)
4 3-25-2011
good item with a downside

good quality and easy to use purfling, but black fiber looks cheap.
I would use lot more if available also in maple/rosewood

Ciro Marzio  Napoli - Italy Read my reviews (12)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 34 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce