Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Truss rods : Adjustable truss rods : Hex Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod

Hex Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod


Read 18 Reviews   |   Write a Review

1/4" hex nut design for electric guitars and banjos. Smooth two-way action corrects upbow and backbow, giving complete control over the neck.

See details below

Email a friend
Hex Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0979 Hex Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod Yes
$16.89
6 or more $14.75  
12 or more $13.52  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Hex Truss Rod Wrenches



Pocket Truss Rod Wrenches



Router Bit for Hot Rod Truss Rods



Carbon Fiber Neck Rods



Slotted Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod



Hex Truss Rod Wrenches
Pocket Truss Rod Wrenches
Router Bit for Hot Rod Truss Rods
Carbon Fiber Neck Rods
Slotted Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod



Details
 Pictures
Specs
Instructions
Easy to install. The Hot Rod® fits in a straight channel. For proper operation, this truss rod must be installed so that the active rod (the rod with the adjustment nut) is below the passive rod. A wooden filler stick is not required.

Our Hot Rod neck adjustment system features twin rods in threaded brass collars. The stainless steel active rod turns for smooth neck alignment, with 2-way action. The Hot Rod requires an access cavity for the adjustment nut, and a straight 7/32"-wide x 7/16"-deep slot (measured from the bottom of the fretboard) for installation.

The 18" rod fits many electric guitars and banjos. Overall length includes the nut.

We've designed the Router Bit for Hot Rod Truss Rods especially for routing your neck to fit our truss rods.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Hex Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
Hex Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 18 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 18 < 1  2
5 5-04-2011
a real gain of time and efficiency

when i first began luthierie, i used to make my own rods, but when i discovered the 2-way truss-rods either allen screw or hex-nut, i definitely choose to put them into every instrument that i make : electric guitars, acoustics, banjos...

Lowelectric Guitars  Besancon, France Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
3 4-13-2011
Works great

Could be smaller though. I don't like having a 7/16 deep route. Doesn't work to good for super thin necks. Other than that this truss rod works perfectly, no rattles and smooth accurate adjustment.

Jerhico Guitars  Altona, NY Read my reviews (51)
4 3-19-2011
pretty cool

These are great...first thing I noticed over a standard trust rod is it takes very little to make "micro" adjustments.

JDS  New York Read my reviews (5)
5 3-04-2011
Great Stuff!

I've used 4 of these in my builds now. 2 in electrics, 1 in an acoustic, and 1 in a banjitar. Never had a problem with any of them, and they can even be removed/replaced if your truss rod slot is cut correctly.

Just as another reviewer has noted, I have seen a small amount of rust on some of the rods. I usually put a few drops of 3-in-1 oil on the threads before installation just to keep corrosion to a minimum. I really love that these are 2-way rods, and can be used to correct a back-bow if necessary. And, the price on these rods is great! Most shops charge the same amount for a chintzy 1-way rod. The only thing I could think of improving would be to use stainless steel so the rods don't rust, and maybe offer a few more lengths too. Thanks for reading my review!

Charles G.  USA Read my reviews (9)
Customer supplied image for review
4 10-02-2010
Stainless Active Rod only

A couple of days after unwrapping, I noticed a little surface rust on the passive rod. I didn't notice the wording in the product description "stainless steel active rod" I'm not sure how this will effect the rods performance over time.I plan to use it anyway, looks like it would be super easy to replace if any problems arise. Just keep in mind that only the active rod is stainless if you think the rust could be an issue.

Ballew  Tennessee Read my reviews (2)
5 9-07-2010
Excellent

What can I say, great quality, easy to install, works great!

Colt W. Knight  South Charleston, WV 25309 Read my reviews (43)
5 8-11-2010
1/4" Hex Nut Hot Rod

It's my favorit truss rod. Works well. It would be good to have such for a bass, with 1/4" hex nut.

Alexander  Russia , Perm Read my reviews (4)
4 6-27-2010
Hot Rod Truss Rod

These truss rods are definitely top notch. I have used them in several of my building projects without a problem. Easy to install.

Kirk W.  Punxsutawney, PA Read my reviews (11)
Displaying 11 – 18 < 1  2 /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 72 of our latest catalog.


Hot Rod® is a registered trademark of Stewart-MacDonald Manufacturing Company, Inc.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce