Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tuners : Bass tuners : Gotoh Compact Bass Tuner Set

Gotoh Compact Bass Tuner Set


Read 21 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Enclosed-gear tuners for smaller pegheads, with 7/16"-diameter string posts and threaded hex bushings. 9/16"-diameter pegholes required.

See details below

Email a friend
Gotoh Compact Bass Tuner Set
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0897 Chrome, 2L/2R Yes
$45.32
3 or more $37.12  

0897-B Black, 2L/2R Yes
$56.95
3 or more $46.30  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Grover Titan Bass Machines



Bass String Retainer



Individual Gotoh Compact Bass Tuner



ESP Multi Spanner



Hipshot Ultralite Bass Tuner with Schaller-style Knob



Grover Titan Bass Machines
Bass String Retainer
Individual Gotoh Compact Bass Tuner
ESP Multi Spanner
Hipshot Ultralite Bass Tuner with Schaller-style Knob



Details
 Pictures
Specs
Precision 20:1 gear ratio with sealed lubrication, cast housings and metal knobs. Set of 4, for 2-left/2-right pegheads. Mounting screws included.

Also sold individually for 5 or 6-string basses, or for asymmetric pegheads.

To be sure these tuners fit your instrument, compare your existing machines and peghole dimensions to our listed specs to help determine the best replacement.
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Gotoh Compact Bass Tuner Set
Gotoh Compact Bass Tuner Set
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 21 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 >
4 5-10-2011
Okay, But Could Be Better

I bought these to replace the cheap knock-offs on an otherwise very playable bass. The gasket on one of the new Gotoh tuners was rough-edged and a bad fit -- really sloppy manufacturing. The Gotoh screws were quite tiny; I had to make the unfortunate choice between filling in the holes then drilling, or using the old screws. I chose the latter.

The Gotohs do stay in tune better than the old ones, thus the rating of 4 rather than 3.

Mike Harrison  Toronto Canada
5 4-14-2011
Perfect as usual!

Dear stewmac, thank you once again for being so efficient, polite and professional! The shipment was quick and the tuner set is great!
Greeting from southern Italy!!!

ALB57  Italy
5 4-12-2011
Still prefer these over Hip Shot

I like the looks of these over the more popular and vastly more expensive competitor. Smooth and clean, just goes with the style of bass I make. And Stew Mac has great service.

RLowVaughn  Boise, Id. Read my reviews (19)
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-10-2011
Fantastic !

Replaced a 2+2 set on an electric acoustic bass. Fit and function excellent ! Very Satisfied with product and excellent service from StewMac.

J.Russell  Casey, Illinois Read my reviews (4)
5 2-19-2011
Ibanez Mikro Upgrade

I liked almost everything about the Mikro except its tuners. Checked the StewMac replacement tuners, did some measuring and was convinced the Mikro tuners had to be Gotoh knock-offs.
The new Gotoh's dropped right into place -- even the screw holes matched perfectly.
And the black color added a classy look I didn't expect.

Sitka Sound  Sequim, WA Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 2-17-2011
New life for a old friend

This was the first bass I've ever owned. It sat in the case for a few years because it would not stay in tune. I first thought to sell it, but then decided to learn how to repair it(who wants to sell there first born?) Installed these in about 15 min., a perfect fit. These are a beautifully machined, precise tuner.

RobK  St. Albert, Alberta, Canada Read my reviews (8)
Customer supplied image for review
5 1-26-2011
Gotoh tuners for Ibanez Ergodyne Bass

I came to Stew-Mac because of the broad selection and because Ibanez no longer has the original part. The process and fulfillment was as fast and as efficient as Amazon. The genuine Gotoh tuners appear to be better than the clones on my mid priced bass.

Steve Heinje  Spokane, WA
5 1-22-2011
My personal favorites

I like the clean look of Gotoh sealed gear tuning machines. And you can't go wrong ordering from Stew Mac.

RLowVaughn  Boise, Id. Read my reviews (19)
Customer supplied image for review
4 1-05-2011
Good Keys

I was skeptical about buying Gotoh compared to schaller tuning keys. My bass is an average bass and Gotoh tuning keys are built so much better then Ping or economy products. These are holding up quite well, they're smooth when tuning and they keep in-tune. The only flaw I had was when I put them on there was a little slippage via the contact on the back of the headstock even though I tighten/torqued the keys. Overall its doing its job and its not slipping from what i can tell. It's still in-tune

Bdabrowa  Portage, IN
5 12-13-2010
Happy Camper

I am a professional bassist and have been for over 40 years. My prized bass a 1970 Hohner fretless (one of the first fretless basses ever produced) had the E tuning head self destruct about a month ago. This was a personally devastating event. The bass and I are like best friends It broke my heart when it happened. I had no luck with Hohner or any other source. I dug out an old Bass Player magazine and started to search for a source on the back pages. I found Stewart McDonald and e mailed them. I explained the situation and actually was talking to a person who realized the urgency of the situation. We went over sizes and all the other key points that would require accuracy in matching such an old vintage instrument.

I ordered a whole set of heads and waited with great anxiety for the US mail package to arrive. They came in. Worked perfectly and the bass and I are quite happy. Thanks to all for the great follow through by SMc and for saving my bass. Also Smc sent me a really great catalog which I passed on to a friend of mine in Fort Lauderdale who recently opened a small guitar sale and repair shop. He is already using the catalog to find really rare and hard to find repair items. All is great and I thank yo very much. The whole experience proved to be quite refreshing Have a fine day
jim kelley

James Kelley  Miami Florida
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 57 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce