Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Files : Gauged Nut Slotting Files

Gauged Nut Slotting Files


Read 186 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Our tempered edge-cut nut files produce round-bottom slots, to ensure that the strings seat properly in the nut without buzzing.

See details below

Email a friend
Gauged Nut Slotting Files

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0821 0.010" width Yes
$12.95

0823 0.013" width Yes
$12.95

0827 0.016" width Yes
$12.95

0828 0.020" width Yes
$12.95

0829 0.024" width Yes
$12.95

0830 0.028" width Yes
$12.95

0831 0.032" width Yes
$12.95

0832 0.035" width Yes
$12.95

0833 0.042" width Yes
$12.95

5313 0.046" width Yes
$12.95

0834 0.050" width Yes
$12.95

0835 0.056" width Yes
$12.95


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Gauged Nut Slotting Files for Bass



Nut Slotting Gauge



Dan Erlewines Nut Making Step-By-Step



String Spacing Rule



Bleached White Bone Nuts



Gauged Nut Slotting Files for Bass
Nut Slotting Gauge
Dan Erlewine's Nut Making Step-By-Step
String Spacing Rule
Bleached White Bone Nuts



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Articles
Each chrome-alloy steel file has twin 4" cutting edges. Among our most popular tools, these professional files help you get the job done quickly and correctly.

What files do I need?
Choose nut slotting files that are the same size or no more that a few thousands larger than your individual string gauges. A smaller file can also be rocked side-to-side to widen a slot to the desired size. For example, you can cut a .043" slot with a .042" file by moving it around a bit.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 186 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 91 – 100 < 1  ...  9  10  11  ...  19 >
5 4-15-2012
Nut files great

Great having properly sized files with correct profile for bottom of slot. Together with good instruction, I've vastly improved the action on my Gretsch Electromatic, my Dean Hardtail, a Taylor, and an Ibanez V series. No buzz, good intonation from proper angle and correct size for strings. Beats all of the substitutes (Needle files, etc.) hands down.

Jake's Likes  Spokane, WA
Customer supplied image for review
5 4-12-2012
Perfect Tools

As usual for StewMac products and tools, these files are of an outstanding quality.

Keep controlling and work light while cutting string slots with these, because as for any other professional tools of that quality, these files cut fast.

Philippe  Ibiza, Spain Read my reviews (2)
5 4-11-2012
Right tool for the job

I have been using the gauged nut slotting files from Stew-Mac for more than fifteen years. Consistent cutting makes it easy to slot the nut with the proper radius as with 7.25 radius on the 1957 Strat pictured or the 1961 Strat that just came in for re-fret. Dan's guitar jig gets high praise as well.

Larry, Thermionic Engineering  Pennsylvania Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 4-08-2012
EXCELENTE LIMA, MUY UTIL

EXCELENTE CALIDAD Y TAMAÑO,ES MUY PRACTICA PARA TRABAJOS DE AJUSTE DE LOS NUTS, ADEMAS SU BORDE ES REDONDEADO LO QUE AYUDA MUCHO AL AJUSTE PERFECTO DE LA CUERDA.
THANKS GUYS, EXCELLENT TOOL

ACHguitars  Santiago, Chile Read my reviews (14)
5 3-21-2012
Gauged Nut Slotting Files

Excellent! Easy to clean.

Ken S.  Canada Read my reviews (4)
5 3-18-2012
Awesome!!!

Perfect! Now there's 5 more files to go! And I will buy it! You guys can't imagine how these files can make the Nut making job easy. And clean. Thanks for so many great products.

Kazuo, Ed  São Paulo, Brazil
5 3-18-2012
Finally gone nuts

As I became more comfortable with doing my own setups I finally decided to buy a set of nut files. The results are well worth the expense in terms of instrument playability. No need to rush the job, take off a little at a time. Great files, Thanks.

Wriggley  Norfolk. UK Read my reviews (2)
5 3-02-2012
GREAT purchase

After pa$$ing on the mega priced files I got a .010 and a .024 and this handles all my needs. I use the .010 for the G,B and E and the .024 for the wound strings since these can be rocked sideways to cut larger grooves. It can be done with a careful touch which I had no trouble doing. And to clean you tap on your palm and you're ready to cut again. Haven't tried them on brass but plastic & bone is a breeze. A MUST buy !

Dr. LaRrY  Winston-Salem,N.C. Read my reviews (5)
5 2-29-2012
Nut Slotting Files

Makes for easier and quick work on making a new nut.

guitarwoodrat  Cumberland Gap, Tn Read my reviews (18)
5 2-29-2012
excellent

very fast and accurate works. recommended

lycker  cagliari, Sardinia, Italy Read my reviews (12)
Displaying 91 – 100 < 1  ...  9  10  11  ...  19 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 16 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce