Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Routing bits : Ball Bearing Router Bits

Ball Bearing Router Bits


Read 85 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Special bits for templates! Extra-long carbide-tipped router bits produce clean, precise body cavities when used with our templates.

See details below

Email a friend
Ball Bearing Router Bits
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0565 Set of both router bits SAVE $5.00 Yes
$51.70

0583 Router bit, 3/8" dia. Yes
$26.95

0693 Router bit,1/2" dia. Yes
$29.75

1288 Extra bearing for 3/8" bit Yes
$5.90

1289 Extra bearing 1/2" bit Yes
$5.60


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Swamp Ash Body Blank



African Mahogany Body Blank



Alder Body Blank



Single-coil Pickup Routing Templates



Swamp Ash Body Blank
African Mahogany Body Blank
Alder Body Blank
Single-coil Pickup Routing Templates



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
The ball-bearing guide matches the cutting diameter, and the long shank allows multiple-pass routing for deep cavities.

The 1/2" diameter bit is recommended for most of your routing chores. Use the 3/8" cutter only for routing corners that need the tighter radius.

Sold individually or SAVE when you buy the set of both router bits.

Shank diameter: 1/4" (6.35mm)
Cutting height: 1/2" (12.7mm)

A heat-resistant sleeve (not shown) holds the bearing in position. We recommend stacking an extra bearing on the shank for deep cavities, and use the 3/8" bit only for routing corners.

Tip: We recommend that you change the position of stacked bearings on the router bit's shank every time your re-chuck in the bit into your router. This will greatly extend the life of the bearings and reduces the risk of a bearing "blow-out."

How (and why) to use templates to rout control cavities
How (and why) to use templates to rout a solidbody guitar
How (and why) to use templates to rout control cavities Read more

In this issue:
If you sometimes think of making a custom electric guitar, Erick Coleman has tips to make one part of the process a lot easier. Here's how to rout the neck pocket and control cavities so they look as good as a factory build.
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Ball Bearing Router Bits
Ball Bearing Router Bits
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 85 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  9 >
5 10-07-2013
Router bits

Love them. They are short enough that you can use your pickup and neck pocket templates without putting something under them.

preetcher  Beaufort, NC Read my reviews (48)
5 8-26-2013
Binding and purfling.

I used this 3/8 bit in my small router with the Stew Mac pick up templates to flawlessly rout out a 3 pick up cavities on the top of my last guitar build. The small bit's bearing will hold up if you take it really easy. The bearings held for me but next time I will use the 1/2 bit for the rough cuts and the 3/8 bit for the finish cuts.

Rodrigo  CT Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 7-13-2013
Best Bits for handeld routing with a template

I’ve used these bits for many years and they are simply the best available for cutting guitar cavities with a handheld router and templates. There really isn’t another short depth of cut top bearing alternative on the market. If you follow these rules the bit should last for many guitars. Rough out your cavities with a Forstner bit on a drill press first. Make conventional cuts moving the spinning bit AGAINST the grain at all times. Rout in small passes when possible half the cutter diameter to ensure cutting against the grain, or even a quarter for the final pass against the perimeter of the template. Likewise 3-4 passes for standard depth neck and pickup cavities. If you need 3/8” diameter corners do all your routing first with ½”, then recut the corners only with 3/8”. If you are building more than 2 guitars at a time consider buying multiple bits and rotating them during your operations to reduce over-heating. Do not even think of cutting a neck or body outside perimeter off a template with these in a handheld router. It’s the wrong tool for that job and can easily cause damage or injury, use a router table and bottom bearing bits instead.

Midnight Luthiery  USA Read my reviews (6)
5 6-24-2013
pattern following router bits

I have been purchasing these specially manufactured bits from stew-mac for close to 20 yrs. and have been very satisfied with the overall performance and the ability to do very close tolerance work with them. the only stipulation is that you keep spare bearings on hand@ all times and inspect the condition on a regular basis. Which is standard practice for use with this type of tooling and has nothing to do with the quality of the specific item that Stew-Mac is marketing, just comes with the territory. I have purchased high quality replacement bearings direct from specialty houses that deal with nothing but these products and their is NO appreciable difference. Best to buy all components from Stew-Mac and save time, money and trouble.

Mr. Stainless  USA
5 5-23-2013
Ball Bearing Router Bits

really good stuff, strong, easy to used it, thank you very much Stewart mc D

Sidi  Yogyakarta - indonesia
Customer supplied image for review
3 5-17-2013
A bit disappointed...

These are very nice.... at first. They dull very fast. They are hard to find, like most luthier related tools, anywhere but through a specialty supplier like StewMac. Also, if you buy them get at least 4 or more additional bearings. Make very shallow passes on hardwoods. Let them cool frequently. I wish they made them in carbide.

PNC Guitars  Washinton USA Read my reviews (26)
5 5-04-2013
Ball Bearing Router Bits

Work perfectly with templates!!!

fairprtman  USA Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
5 4-13-2013
High Quality!!!!

High Quality!!!!

Vadym  Belaya Tserkov, Ukraine Read my reviews (12)
5 1-16-2013
Well worth your money

The first router bits I ever bought were from StewMac and came with the bearings as a set. Upon needing new/different bits, I tried some sets from a major retailer of of tools and household items. The bearings that came with those bits fragged in short order, sometimes causing damage to the work piece. For the trouble of hunting around and/or unknown quality, it's well worth continuing to order these bearings.

The Milkman  Hi Desert, SoCal Read my reviews (2)
5 12-29-2012
Awesome as always!!

I really love these router bits!! Hi quality and perfect for making pickguards, routing for pickups and such... would like to see longer versions of thes to rout body edges and smaller versions to fit in a dremel too !!

Rob's Guitar Works  Drexel Hill, PA Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  9 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 36 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce