Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Bending sides : Bending Iron

Bending Iron


Read 29 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Variable temperature and versatile bending radii. Here's a well-made iron that's ideal for bending wet or steamed sidewood in the small shop.

See details below

Email a friend
Bending Iron
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0689 Domestic, 120-volt Yes
$207.05

4049 International, 220-volt Yes
$215.75

0688 Mandolin/Violin Side Bending Extension Yes
$10.45


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Side Bending Practice Wood



Side Bending Strap



Archtop Side Set



Rosewood Back and Side Set for Small Guitar



Historical Lute Construction



Side Bending Practice Wood
Side Bending Strap
Archtop Side Set
Rosewood Back and Side Set for Small Guitar
Historical Lute Construction



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
Crafted from 6-1/4" long cast aluminum, it features variable temperature control and a versatile shape allowing a wide variety of bending radii.

Tip: Bending wood successfully requires practice, and we recommend using stainless steel Side Bending Straps to support wood sides during bending. We offer inexpensive practice wood and free instructions to help you get started.

The Bending Iron's highest temperature is approximately 500° (good bending temperature is between 350° and 400°). A surface thermometer placed on the aluminum iron is the best way to monitor the temperature.

To bend the tight curved sides of a mandolin or violin, screw on our unique #0688 Mandolin/Violin Side Bending Extension.

The sturdy wooden base can be clamped to your workbench horizontally or vertically.

#0689 Domestic model is a 120-volt (200 watt) AC electrical appliance. It has a U.S. standard Type B plug with two flat parallel prongs and a grounding pin.

#4049 International model is a 220-volt (200 watt) AC electrical appliance has international plug CEE 7/7 (compatible with Type E and F receptacles) with two round prongs and two grounding clips on the sides and female contact to accept the grounding pin.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Bending Iron
Bending Iron
 
4 out of 5 stars
Based on 29 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 29 < 1  2  3
5 7-10-2011
Perfecto!

This bending iron is perfect for my needs. I have successfully bent guitar sides for the very first time. The instructions that came with the tool has been very helpful. My sides are of east indian rosewood. I am very happy with this tool. And, i must add that my shipment was received after only 22 hours i have placed the order. Great service!

Steve001  Montrea, Qu├ębec, Canada Read my reviews (5)
4 4-28-2011
great service!

I'm delighted with my bending iron, which is a vital tool in my violin making workshop - the first one was faulty but Stewmac replaced it immediately and refunded my return carriage costs. The temperature reached when it's set at 6 is ideal for rib bending and the screw-in extension makes the iron more versatile. Many thanks!

Caroline  Scotland
1 4-28-2011
Not the best bending iron I came across

1- the iron does not get hot enough for the toughest woods and take very long to heat. It's good for maple but it's practically impossible to achieve consistent good results working with brazilian rosewood or african blackwood.
2- Only practical regulations are the two highest temperature. Others are useless.
3- Mass is not enough to keep temperature constant when working with very wet woods.
4- the 3 radiuses are most of the times too big or too small for the work. I would rather like a really drop shaped radius continually and gradually changing from mild curve to sharp curve.

I think you guys should really work on this to bring it at the same high quality level of the other stuff you sell.

Ciro Marzio  Napoli - Italy Read my reviews (12)
StewMac responds

Ciro Marzio,
We're sorry to hear you were unhappy with our Bending Iron. We value your feedback on how to make this iron better. Please accept our sincere apologies for letting you down. We're happy to offer a full refund or exchange.

3 4-15-2011
Bending iron

I spent many frustrating hours trying to bend European curly maple to shape for a single cutaway (Benedetto Style) jazz archtop with little success.
I came to the conclusion that the iron was just not getting hot enough.
An email to StewMacs had a new one on its way to Australia, which arrived 6 days later.
I've yet to try this one but I'm sure it will be fine.
Great service guys-Thanks!

Ged  Noosa, Queensland, Australia Read my reviews (12)
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-06-2011
Bending Iron/Extension

I use a bending iron mainly for touch-ups after the side wood comes out of my bending machine. The Stew-mac model is just the ticket. I wish I'd picked it up years ago and ditched the old steel pipe and propane torch I used all that time!

Scot T  Canada
3 2-13-2011
Bending Iron

I have had 2 separate elements burn out with the setting at 6 (not on high) with this iron. Stewmac replaced the first element for free and the second time replaced the whole iron. I replaced the insulator on the base with cement sheet. The normal insulator starts to rock after a while. This can be tightened but I found the cement sheet more robust and stiffer. I would like to see stewmac come up with a more robust bending iron overall.

Strato Anagnostis

Australian Guitar Making School  NSW Australia Read my reviews (2)
5 1-23-2011
Bending Iron

I purchased a 220 volt version which sat in my workshop for several months before I tried using it. When I switched it on, the unit was faulty. Stewmac immediately sent me a replacement and refunded the postage costs back from Australia for the faulty iron. The replacement works beautifully. A very pleasing result indeed!! Full marks to Stewmac for their customer service and support.

Karl Redlich  Australia
4 12-16-2010
Good Electrical Bender

This wood bender performs very good, but beginners need a lot of practice to get a decent bend.

R Anthony  Los Angeles, CA Read my reviews (3)
5 8-23-2010
Wow

I was used to use an "home made bending iron". At the end I decided to try this and it's fantastic: the temperature can be set precisely and the bending process is easier than ever! Highly recommended ;-)

Capu  Switzerland Read my reviews (33)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 21 – 29 < 1  2  3 /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 76 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce