Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Straightedges : String Action Gauge

String Action Gauge


Read 178 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Fast, accurate measurements for setups. Our String Action Gauge is a "Swiss Army Ruler" for setup adjustments on any stringed instrument.

See details below

Email a friend
String Action Gauge

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0670 Inches Yes
$18.95

0670-M Metric 1-2 weeks
$18.95


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Precision Straightedges



Radius Gauges



Guitar Player Repair Guide



Fret Rocker



Fret Slot Depth Gauge



Precision Straightedges
Radius Gauges
Guitar Player Repair Guide
Fret Rocker
Fret Slot Depth Gauge



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Articles
Instructions
This pocket-size stainless steel rule has become a luthier's favorite in busy shops. It's the best way yet to get vital measurements on acoustic and electric instruments.
• String height
• Bridge saddle height
• Saddle slot depth
• Fret slot depth (unbound fingerboards)
• Nut height
• Pickup polepiece height


No more "three-and-a-half-64ths or 3/32" plus one of those little lines." This gauge measures in ways that regular rulers can't. —Dan Erlewine

Developed here at Stewart-MacDonald by Dan Erlewine and Don MacRostie, the gauge features a progressive string height scale: simply slide it across the frets and read the measurement under the string. It's faster to use than any ruler, and stays parallel to the fingerboard—much easier than trying to hold a ruler perpendicular to a rounded fret. The string height markers are graduated from .010" to .140" on the inch model, and from 0.25mm to 3.50mm on the metric version.

The back of the gauge has a time-saving fractional/decimal/metric conversion chart.

The String Action Gauge is made of durable stainless steel with precision-etched markings, and fits right in your pocket.

Tip: You can use the gauge to set router depth, instead of a shop ruler. It sits solidly on your router base, with the scale right where you need it.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
String Action Gauge
String Action Gauge
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 178 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 91 – 100 < 1  ...  9  10  11  ...  18 >
2 2-17-2012
Not as good as I'd hoped...

For the money I think it is not of great quality. Also measuring in 10ths is not as accurate as 64ths. It's only kind of useful. I should have looked more carefully before I bought it.

Bob Gretsch  Dracut, MA Read my reviews (12)
5 2-12-2012
very usefull

I have a lot of archtop guitars. This tool allows me to adjust the action very quickly and the slope of the bridge.

Lucio  Italy
5 2-12-2012
Very useful tool

Very useful little tool.
Might be even better with 2 sides graduated, 1 inches and 1 metric, instead of the table conversion not so practical.

DavidB  Persan, France
5 2-08-2012
indispensable pour économiser du temps

très polyvalent et s'adapte à toute situation,un seul outil pour multiple usages

Danny Langlois  Qc,canada Read my reviews (2)
5 1-31-2012
Action Gauge

Bought the imperial version a good while back. Use it all the time for string action measurements, so for that it's 5-stars. Ideally, I'd keep the string action side the same (inch fractions, like how we measure strings) and have a metric ruler on the opposite face.

Moriarty Guitars  Dublin Ireland Read my reviews (12)
5 1-29-2012
Essential

It makes the job of measuring the string height so much faster and clearer.

I have to agree with Martin Fuerstenau though, a version with metric and inches would be indispensable and would get a 10 star rating.

Steve Newton  Pembroke, Wales
5 1-20-2012
Absolute Money Maker

Not only do you save time in checking string height specs you can check a customers guitar instantly and get another repair out of it.
Ms Ricki Leigh

Ricki Leigh  Pennsylvania Read my reviews (9)
5 1-07-2012
essential!!

you NEED this, it's the one tool that I just cannot live without now.

JMOGuitars  Cardiff, UK Read my reviews (5)
5 1-06-2012
Fantastic setup tool with a little drawback

I live in Germany. That means metric. I read a lot of guitar building books. That means metric and imperial. Therefore I ordered both - the metric one and the imperial one. Thats the drawback. I think it would be great to have metric on one side and inch/fractional on the other side instead of the conversion table.

Martin Fuerstenau  Unterfoehring Read my reviews (10)
5 12-23-2011
String Action Gauge

Usually I set up my guitars basically by trial and error and bits of paper with pencil marks on them for string height etc. However I recently purchased the String Action Gauge and it makes things very much simpler and much more consistent. As a result I have reset up 4 guitars since getting it and eventually I'll work my way through the rest.

Pat Green  UK Read my reviews (20)
Displaying 91 – 100 < 1  ...  9  10  11  ...  18 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 12 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce