Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Straightedges : String Action Gauge

String Action Gauge


Read 178 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Fast, accurate measurements for setups. Our String Action Gauge is a "Swiss Army Ruler" for setup adjustments on any stringed instrument.

See details below

Email a friend
String Action Gauge

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0670 Inches Yes
$18.95

0670-M Metric 2-3 weeks
$18.95


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Precision Straightedges



Radius Gauges



Guitar Player Repair Guide



Fret Rocker



Fret Slot Depth Gauge



Precision Straightedges
Radius Gauges
Guitar Player Repair Guide
Fret Rocker
Fret Slot Depth Gauge



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Articles
Instructions
This pocket-size stainless steel rule has become a luthier's favorite in busy shops. It's the best way yet to get vital measurements on acoustic and electric instruments.
• String height
• Bridge saddle height
• Saddle slot depth
• Fret slot depth (unbound fingerboards)
• Nut height
• Pickup polepiece height


No more "three-and-a-half-64ths or 3/32" plus one of those little lines." This gauge measures in ways that regular rulers can't. —Dan Erlewine

Developed here at Stewart-MacDonald by Dan Erlewine and Don MacRostie, the gauge features a progressive string height scale: simply slide it across the frets and read the measurement under the string. It's faster to use than any ruler, and stays parallel to the fingerboard—much easier than trying to hold a ruler perpendicular to a rounded fret. The string height markers are graduated from .010" to .140" on the inch model, and from 0.25mm to 3.50mm on the metric version.

The back of the gauge has a time-saving fractional/decimal/metric conversion chart.

The String Action Gauge is made of durable stainless steel with precision-etched markings, and fits right in your pocket.

Tip: You can use the gauge to set router depth, instead of a shop ruler. It sits solidly on your router base, with the scale right where you need it.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
String Action Gauge
String Action Gauge
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 178 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 41 – 50 < 1  ...  4  5  6  ...  18 >
5 2-24-2013
Must-have!

Brilliant tool! The progressive string height scale is great. Set up all my guitars in no time.

Twan  The Netherlands Read my reviews (3)
5 2-09-2013
Great Product Period

Bought one of these as I wanted to start tinkering with my own guitars. Product is awesome. I had a small mechanical ruler, but this is sooo much easier and accurate. Pricey perhaps, but worth every penny. If you want to set up guitars, you should buy one of these.

RockinRonnie  Ontario Read my reviews (5)
5 1-20-2013
My First Setup

I've had my Strat for about 18 years, and it has never had any attention. But lately I've been playing it every day, so I started tinkering with it. After fixing the intonation by adjusting the string length at the bridge, I felt encouraged to read more about doing a full setup. I made a slight change to the truss rod, and then set the bridge to standard height. Then it was time to set the string height. None of my rulers was accurate enough, and on some of them, the scale did not start at the edge of the tool.

I ordered a String Action Gauge calibrated in inches. It arrived in just a couple of days, right before Christmas. I set the string height by adjusting the saddles on the bridge. The scale of the String Action Gauge starts right at the edge of the tool, so I set it right on the frets and held it with one hand while turning the Allen wrench with the other hand. The markings on the gauge are bold enough to read easily.

I also set the pickup height for all 3 pickups. I had to do it twice, because the first time I didn't hold the string down at the last fret. The sound was like listening through a cardboard tube. My second try turned out much better.

The setup manual at the Fender website was all in inches, so I didn't have to do any conversions. I'm pretty sure that I will need the metric version of this tool someday. It's probably just a matter of time.

Len  Texas
5 1-16-2013
Should have bought one ages ago

In general, if you are setting up your own guitar, you should have a string action gauge. I've been going without one for decades, and while "feel" is of course the most important aspect of action, it's really nice to have an objective reference point to know mathematically where your action really falls and whether or not it really has become worse when you instinctively feel like it has. Specifically, this StewMac gauge is exactly what you'd expect it to be, a precise and sturdy metal gauge, in a convenient size, with a lot of info available on all its edges. It can be a little hard on the thicker strings to read where your action lies, but that's going to be the case with any gauge due to the small increments you're working with. I use mine a LOT, especially as here in Japan, in an old-style Japanese house, the climate in my music room changes drastically and I'm adjusting the action almost weekly.

Lance Link  Japan Read my reviews (9)
5 1-16-2013
Cool Tool!

Makes set up a snap!

LDT  Southaven, MS Read my reviews (10)
5 1-05-2013
Great Product!!

Accurate and Small Great for Setup Work!

Matan  Dimona, ISR Read my reviews (5)
5 12-29-2012
Great item and a time saver

I got this one in metric and the setup now seems like a game. Great accuracy.

sofislele  Athens, Greece Read my reviews (8)
5 12-26-2012
A great tool to have

As I start to do more of my own setups, this is a great help.

J K Jones  Los Angeles, CA Read my reviews (6)
5 12-01-2012
String Action Gauge

Fine basic tool.

willybrown  Canada
5 11-13-2012
In constant use

These things got used so much I have to keep two around.

Reid Hall  New York City Read my reviews (6)
Displaying 41 – 50 < 1  ...  4  5  6  ...  18 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 12 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce