Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Straightedges : String Action Gauge

String Action Gauge


Read 178 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Fast, accurate measurements for setups. Our String Action Gauge is a "Swiss Army Ruler" for setup adjustments on any stringed instrument.

See details below

Email a friend
String Action Gauge

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0670 Inches Yes
$18.95

0670-M Metric 1-2 weeks
$18.95


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Precision Straightedges



Radius Gauges



Guitar Player Repair Guide



Fret Rocker



Fret Slot Depth Gauge



Precision Straightedges
Radius Gauges
Guitar Player Repair Guide
Fret Rocker
Fret Slot Depth Gauge



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Articles
Instructions
This pocket-size stainless steel rule has become a luthier's favorite in busy shops. It's the best way yet to get vital measurements on acoustic and electric instruments.
• String height
• Bridge saddle height
• Saddle slot depth
• Fret slot depth (unbound fingerboards)
• Nut height
• Pickup polepiece height


No more "three-and-a-half-64ths or 3/32" plus one of those little lines." This gauge measures in ways that regular rulers can't. —Dan Erlewine

Developed here at Stewart-MacDonald by Dan Erlewine and Don MacRostie, the gauge features a progressive string height scale: simply slide it across the frets and read the measurement under the string. It's faster to use than any ruler, and stays parallel to the fingerboard—much easier than trying to hold a ruler perpendicular to a rounded fret. The string height markers are graduated from .010" to .140" on the inch model, and from 0.25mm to 3.50mm on the metric version.

The back of the gauge has a time-saving fractional/decimal/metric conversion chart.

The String Action Gauge is made of durable stainless steel with precision-etched markings, and fits right in your pocket.

Tip: You can use the gauge to set router depth, instead of a shop ruler. It sits solidly on your router base, with the scale right where you need it.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
String Action Gauge
String Action Gauge
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 178 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  18 >
5 11-03-2013
Great Gadget

easy to use and repeatable !

J Mac  Brisbane
5 10-28-2013
Easy and effective

I've been using a small 6 inch steel rule to measure string height. What a pain. This little gauge though quickly and accurately lets me find the correct height of the strings. Plus many other uses. I even use it to set up my band saw and router.

Robert1986  Kalispell, Montana Read my reviews (4)
5 10-21-2013
Works great for my needs

Love it should have purchased the standard version instead of the metric version because all my guitars are made in USA.

wizard1325  Tampa, FL Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
5 10-09-2013
Really Great Tools

In the past I checked the string action gauge with straightedges and other tools. More or less everytime an adventure. Now having the "String Action Gauge", it's a pleasure to make those measurements. I consider buying more of Stewmac's tools. Simply great!

Lionel 
4 9-12-2013
Totally Basic

One of the first I bought..Excellent...I just recommend a different color for he numbers. Difficult to see.

pablopuerto  Chile Read my reviews (16)
3 9-04-2013
bought it on impulse.

So used to using just a regular 6 inch scale for set up measurements. I am still finding myself to be forced to use this little guy. I think in the sweet spot area, say .050 - .070 there should be .005 incriments.

XevKai  St.Clair Shores, Michigan Read my reviews (11)
5 9-01-2013
string action gauge

This is a must have tool and it is very easy to use with a nice conversion chart on the back.

stealth9tn  Ohio
5 8-10-2013
Level headed

I am always imprest with the tools that arrive from you guys clean lines and clear to see info on how to use the the string action gauge makes life so much easier giving more time to fit more in my day! I have many tools now and every time they arrive it is good to see the extra effort made so we all know how to use the new tool if we have not seen one before. so clear every time . Kind regards Phill ms England

Phillms  Albury UK
5 8-06-2013
Get one, you'll use it a lot!

Yet another handy dandy "Must Have" from Stew-Mac. Usually when people come in asking for a setup, they're actually asking me to "fix" a guitar that plays badly because they've tinkered with it themselves and do not know how to get their desired results. Being a long time guitar player, I generally know what other guitar players will like. Some folks do not want the action changed AT ALL. This gauge allows me to measure the existing action and return it to the original specs with ease.

Dave Ward  Oklahoma City, OK Read my reviews (14)
5 8-03-2013
Must have tool for any guitar work.

This is a must have tool if you do anything from just playing to full custom guitar building. Need to know what size drill bit for those tuners with screws that are not designed for the job, well pull out your magnifying glass and your string gauge tool and measure the shaft of the screw and then the width of the threads and your drill bit will be something in between. The way this tool is designed you can measure anything from nuts, to string hight, to pilot holes with ease. This tool is well worth the cost. Who ever designed this tool was from the world us old timers come from, a world not from evil marketing but from experience.

Isabel Ambrocio  Mexico Read my reviews (3)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  18 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 12 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce