Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Scrapers : StewMac Ultimate Scraper

StewMac Ultimate Scraper


Read 56 Reviews   |   Write a Review

It's the best scraper we've ever used!
Revolutionary tools, unsurpassed for smoothing wood surfaces, arched instrument tops, bindings and more.

See details below

Email a friend
StewMac Ultimate Scraper

Play video

 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0631 Original Yes
$30.95

0632 Mini Yes
$24.45

0623 NEW! Rectangle/Concave Yes
$30.95


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Scraper Blades



Ibex Archtop Carving Planes



Archtop Tops



Spruce Top Wood for Mandolin or Violin



Top Wood for Carved-top Solidbody



Scraper Blades
Ibex Archtop Carving Planes
Archtop Tops
Spruce Top Wood for Mandolin or Violin
Top Wood for Carved-top Solidbody



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Instructions
For an ultra-smooth wood surface, nothing beats a good sharp scraper. Veteran luthier Al Carruth has given the simple scraper a revolutionary makeover, with practical improvements for stringed instrument work: the original Ultimate Scraper. We added a second mini version that's popular for working in tighter areas.

Go for the rectangle/concave scraper when you need to keep a good, tight, square corner in binding channels and neck pockets. Also great for smoothing bindings and many steps of making a new neck. Thanks to renowned bass luthier Michael Tobias for suggesting this new shape!

  • Refined shapes are superior for arched tops and flat or curved surfaces.
  • 1/8" thickness adds stiffness and greatly reduces chatter.
  • Two working edges for scraping with both pull and push strokes.
  • Durable tempered steel edges, for smoothing harder woods.

At 1/8" thick, Ultimate scrapers are much beefier than standard scraper blades. Two cutting edges let the tool work in both directions, without flexing and with less chattering. That saves a lot of time and effort! The tempered tool steel holds a more durable edge, too. The shapes are specially refined for hand-contouring and graduating arched instrument tops and backs, as well as smoothing bindings and flat surfaces.

Dimensions
#0631 Original: 3-3/4" x 1-11/16" (95.25mm x 42.86mm)
#0632 Mini: 2-1/2" x 1-1/2" (63mm x 38mm)
#0623 Rectangle/Concave: 3-7/16" x 1-13/16" (87.31mm x 46.04mm); three straight edges plus 20”-radius concave edge

From luthier Al Carruth:
"In Il Segreti di Stradivari, violin maker Simone Sacconi wrote 'scrapers were made from blades of sabers. Since they were of very hard steel one could not turn the edge and therefore they were used like a knife.' When I began working with violin maker Carleen Hutchins she used such a scraper. This is, in my estimation, the best possible scraper for builders of arched instruments.

"It works on the same principle as scraping with a broken piece of glass; a common technique among carpenters. A very hard material can take an exceedingly keen edge and when it is perpendicular, as it is in broken glass, it can last for a long time even if the material is brittle. This tool has the advantage over glass of having a shape that is well defined and re-sharpenable."

How Al sharpens his scraper:
Sharpen the Carruth Ultimate Scraper on a grinding wheel"I find it easiest to hollow grind the edge perpendicular to the centerline of the scraper. Simply set the tool rest on your grinder perpendicular to the wheel and grind all around. Use as fine a wheel as possible and don't apply too much pressure. If desired, the edge can be further dressed on a fine stone with or without a guide block.

"In use, this scraper will give an extremely smooth cut even on soft or highly figured wood. It has little tendency to chatter due to its weight and does not heat up. It is much easier on the thumbs than a “normal” scraper as it is not “sprung” in use. To re-sharpen simply lap the surface on a fine stone and re-grind the edge."

Watch the video! Al Carruth shows how to use and sharpen the Ultimate Scraper. Watching Al, you'll see how easy this is.




/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
StewMac Ultimate Scraper
StewMac Ultimate Scraper
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 56 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  6 >
4 8-05-2013
Ultimate Scraper

I'd have to think really hard to remember some tool that I bought that did not require a bit of upfront fiddling from me so keep that in mind. I expect everything not to be good right out of the gate. The maker, Al, on the video emphasizes the importance of the flat part of the scraper to be flat. Mine was not. I took it out of it's carefully wrapped package and tried it out....two parallel lines ran down the wood. I shrug my shoulders expecting something like that. It was sharp though and I'm loving it besides that but before I can use I need to fiddle with it. De Rigueur.

SFPaul  San Francisco
5 7-18-2013
One Really sharp and handy scraper

I own the larger scraper. It is absolutely great. I actually have two, one I use just to scrape binding. The first one I purchased, with good care is just as sharp as when it arrived, from StewMac and I have used it constantly over a year now. I think I own about 75% of all the specific luthier type tools (as opposed to say screw drivers or such), sold by StewMac and this is probably the most used of all of them, including tools I have made and ones purchased over the years from other luthier supply vendors. Try one, very reasonable price and handy, I always have it in a little holster I made on my belt when I am in the shop. Take care all and happy building.
Bobby

Sharpest scraper I have ever used  Staten Island, Ny
5 7-05-2013
Stewmac ultimate scrapers

Purchased the original and the mini. They say you get what you pay for and believe it you get all that and then some with these scrapers. Worth every penny!!! Well made and designed. Even if you're not a full-time luthier, these are a great addition to anyone that uses tools often. Many, many uses!!!!

furynut69  Germantown,WI. Read my reviews (7)
5 6-02-2013
Best scraper I've ever used

This scraper is fantastic. It has changed the way I work.

rchapman  Montreal Quebec Read my reviews (2)
5 5-17-2013
Incredible Worksaver!

How do I like my Ultimate Scraper? Let's just say that if my shop ever catches fire, my Ultimate Scraper will likely be the first thing I grab before I haul butt out the door.

M.J. Franks Guitars

MJ Franks  Rochester Hills, MI Read my reviews (8)
5 5-08-2013
Best Scraper by far!!

This is by far the best scraper I have ever used. I purchased the "Original"..When I first saw it here on Stewmac I thought it was a little pricey. Well after using it to shape my 59' Carve top I can say it is worth every penny and more. Excellent tool!!

Keith R  New York Read my reviews (3)
5 4-28-2013
Ultimate is right

None better. Few as good.

John L  Kalamazoo, MI Read my reviews (15)
5 4-03-2013
Get the edge

A wonderful scraper, very precise and responsive. A concave shape would be the bomb as well...

Leo M Whitebird  Mpls Mnn Read my reviews (17)
5 3-29-2013
solid product

A great solid,long lasting product. this scraper will be in my shop for many years to come. the shape allows for multiple scraping uses. very happy with the purchase. I would like to see the scraper also available in a larger size. Service to Australia is fantastic! thanks to all at Stewmac!

Gerhard  Australia
5 3-22-2013
wish I had sooner

Great tools, they work extremely well and I just wish I had had these a long time ago.

fiddlebill  NM
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  6 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 26 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce