Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Fretting : Fret Cutter

Fret Cutter


Read 86 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Spend less time filing fret ends!
This is the best tool for trimming the ends off fretwire.

See details below

Email a friend
Fret Cutter

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0619 Fret Cutter Yes
$28.98


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

StewMac Wide Fretwire



Fret Puller



Fret Beveling File



Fret End Dressing File



3-Corner Fret Dressing Files



StewMac Wide Fretwire
Fret Puller
Fret Beveling File
Fret End Dressing File
3-Corner Fret Dressing Files



Details
 Pictures
 Video
A Stewart-MacDonald exclusive, our custom-made steel cutter has improved features you won't find on hardware store nippers.

The jaws are specially hardened for fret work, and they're profiled and flush-ground to cut the wire close to the fretboard. The result is a cleaner cut without pulling the wire, so you'll need to do less filing. Longer rubber-coated handles allow better access to the frets over a guitar body.

1" (25.4mm) jaw width, 8" (203.20mm) length.

Not recommended for use with stainless-steel fretwire.

Essential for fretting
The Fret Cutter is one of seven tools included in our Essential Fretting Tool Kit, a compilation of tools you'll need for the fundamentals of fret work. Kit also includes our book, Fretwork Step By Step by Erick Coleman with Dan Erlewine.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Fret Cutter
Fret Cutter
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 86 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5  ...  9 >
4 10-17-2012
yes, its great, but..

I've had my fret cutter for at least 8 years now and I like everyone else here loves this tool, but beware - if you try to cut that cool looking gold fretwire - you'll chip your cutter. I almost cried...

jcs  San Francisco Read my reviews (2)
5 10-08-2012
Great tool!

Very neat cuts are easily obtained, making fretting that little bit quicker. Plus the longer handles mean less effort!

Rob Hodgson, Wallash guitars  Derbyshire, England Read my reviews (3)
5 10-07-2012
Awesome cutters

These save me on fret wire costs as they cut cleanly and without ripping the fret from the fretboard.

GavinB  Perth, Australia Read my reviews (26)
5 10-04-2012
Excellent

High quality Tool

Renato Duarte  Santos - SP - Brazil Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
5 9-27-2012
Ótima ferramenta

Meus trabalhos são limpos e precisos.

Rodrigo Gomes  Brazil Read my reviews (44)
Customer supplied image for review
5 8-23-2012
Amazing tool!

It's like I'm cutting cheese. Spend less time using this tool.

Dragon Guitars  Nata/RN Brasil
4 8-05-2012
Fret Cutter that keeps on cutting.

I use this fret cutter almost every day, i make guitars and sell pre-cut frets on Ebay so my tools have to be reliable this certainly is.
The only draw back i can find with this tool is that after cutting hundreds of frets in a day the handles could do with being softer I'VE GOT BLISTERS ON MY FINGERS ! ( Famous John lennon saying ) lol !

Gibson Paul L.  England Read my reviews (3)
5 7-14-2012
Quality product

Easy to use size that does a great job

DocT  New Zealand Read my reviews (5)
5 6-07-2012
Good Cutters

I used these to cut extra jumbo nickel-silver fret wire on my first guitar build. After cutting and filing frets for the first time, I can see why you would want to cut as close to the fretboard as possible. These cutters do what they say, and cleaning up the ends didn't take too long once this noob got used to it.

Matt Travers  MA Read my reviews (4)
5 6-01-2012
Clean cut

Cuts frets cleanly and consistently.

Little Crow  Atlanta, GA Read my reviews (29)
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5  ...  9 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 7 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce