Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Leveling : 8" Radius Blocks

8" Radius Blocks


Read 131 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Accurately true or change a fingerboard's radius and level frets.
We make these hardwood blocks for use with Stikit Abrasives, to radius a fretboard quickly, accurately and without guesswork.

See details below

Email a friend
8 Radius Blocks
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0415 7-1/4" radius Yes
$15.95

0405 9-1/2" radius Yes
$15.95

0416 10" radius Yes
$15.95

0406 11" radius Yes
$15.95

0417 12" radius Yes
$15.95

0419 14" radius Yes
$15.95

0420 15" radius Yes
$15.95

0418 16" radius Yes
$15.95

0421 17" radius Yes
$15.95

0403 20" radius Yes
$15.95


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

8 Radius Blocks Essential Set



Stikit Gold Paper Self-adhesive Abrasives



Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam



4 Radius Blocks







8" Radius Blocks Essential Set
Stikit Gold Paper Self-adhesive Abrasives
Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam
4" Radius Blocks
4" Radius Blocks Essential Set



Details
 Pictures
Articles
Shaping fingerboards: use 80 through 220-grit
Leveling frets: use 220 through 400-grit

When working on compound radius fretboards, simply change blocks as you progress along the neck.

Dimensions: 8" (203.20mm) long x 2-3/4" (69.85mm) wide

See our shorter blocks for spot leveling, and for use as clamping cauls when gluing frets.

What's your radius?
Quickly find the curvature of a fingerboard or bridge with a set of radius gauges. Use them frequently to check your work as you smooth or shape a fingerboard or frets: a quick visual check keeps you from accidentally altering the shape—a mistake that's easy to make and hard to fix.

Radius Gauges


/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
8 Radius Blocks
8" Radius Blocks
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 131 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 81 – 90 < 1  ...  8  9  10  ...  14 >
3 10-02-2011
Machining Grooves

The blocks I receive work just fine, but the radius of them aren't perfect. There are definite machining grooves on the radius left over from the shaping process. They're not large, and with human error taken into account during the sanding of a fingerboard they don't affect the final product a noticeable amount, but they're there none the less.

Feral Customs  Seattle, WA Read my reviews (4)
5 10-01-2011
very nice

they work great for sanding or clamping

sherman stockton  indiana Read my reviews (19)
3 9-07-2011
Good idea, not very good quality

These blocks do the job, but mine are just not even, some has backbow, some has upbow, not very major, but for me it's just not acceptable. Check yours with a straight edge.

Konstantin  Moscow, Russia Read my reviews (16)
5 9-06-2011
K.I.S.S!

These things are simplicity defined. After years of considering, evaluating and trying a multitude of radiusing methods, we finally decided to Keep It Simple Stupid! A nice low angle jack plane roughs out the radius and these handy blocks armed with gold stikit 80 grit gets the job done in under 10 or 15 minutes. 16 bucks for a piece of wood? Yeah. It's worth it. The accuracy is perfect and it makes what some people turn into a Rube Goldberg project into a fast, simple and accurate process. Thanks StewMac!

Marlee Guitar Company  Oakesdale, WA
Customer supplied image for review
5 9-01-2011
8" wooden radius sanding block

well I'm not as strong in the forearms and shoulders as I was 20 years ago, but this block made short work of radiusing two oak fretboards for me recently (this is SOLID wood too). Works perfect with 1/2 sheet of paper and a little elbow grease. I couldn't be happier with the end result. excellent for cigar bax guitrs too. Great tool at a good price.

benderb9  St Petersburg,FL Read my reviews (19)
5 8-24-2011
Excellent!

Nothing else to say but what I said in the title.

Midnight Lord  Ottawa Read my reviews (18)
5 8-17-2011
Got Wood?

Well made & accurate. I'm consistently impressed with these sanding blocks and continue to expand my collection.

Woodshed Guitar Works  Mechanicsburg, Pa Read my reviews (3)
5 8-08-2011
Great but a bit narrow for 5-string bass neck

I used this block to level the Super Glue treatment of a fretless 5-string bass neck's fretboard. Had I checked the neck's top-end width before purchasing this block, I would have realized that it wouldn't be wide enough to sand the upper 1/3 of the neck's fretboard, so that's my error. Even so, this block worked great for the lower 2/3 of the 5-string bass neck. I followed Dan Erlewine's "Super Glue Savior" method and the block helped me to achieve a very acceptably smooth and glossy fretboard finish.

Bassic  Quad Cities, IA Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
5 8-07-2011
8" radius sanding block

The rosewood fingerboard you sent was smack on the quarter with straight tight grain, which helped make this very early Ibanez archtop I rebuilt really desirable, and all thanks to Bob Benedetto's book, too. The sanding block was fixed with double sided tape pressed down on the fingerboard and loaded with 320 grit sandpaper. It leveled my fretwork efficiently and accurately for crowning with the offset diamond file. These blocks are of heavy maple and reliably contoured.

Clive Doak  Victoria, Australia Read my reviews (3)
4 8-05-2011
8" wooden block

I use this for 3 jobs: fretboard radius, press frets and leveling frets. Works nice for all that. But I think after some instruments jobs the marks of pressure frets in the wood will destroy the perfect radius.
That's cool for me, but if you need to work in several instruments, perhaps is better the aluminium option

Omar Delgado  Mexico City Read my reviews (4)
Displaying 81 – 90 < 1  ...  8  9  10  ...  14 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 5 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce