Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Neck, fingerboard : Understring Radius Gauges

Understring Radius Gauges


Read 150 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Fast, accurate bridge saddle adjustment.
Each of these unique gauges has an accurately radiused arc on both the top and bottom surfaces, and is shaped to fit easily under the strings.

See details below

Email a friend
Understring Radius Gauges

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0353 Set of 9 Yes
$29.50

0352 17" gauge only Yes
$3.28


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Radius Gauges



Double-edge Fret File



Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files



Fretting Hammer



Fret Cutter



Radius Gauges
Double-edge Fret File
Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files
Fretting Hammer
Fret Cutter



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Use the bottom curvature to determine your fretboard radius, and the matching top curvature becomes a reference for setting string saddle heights for best playability.

Set of 9 now includes new 17" radius for Ibanez guitars!

Find your fretboard radius, and set your bridge saddles to match. They're handy for matching pickup polepiece heights to the arc of the strings, too. Precision laser-cut from .050" stainless steel.

The set of 9 gauges includes:
7-1/4", 9-1/2", 10", 12", 14", 15", 16", 17" and 20" radii.

They'll work for string spreads and fingerboards up to 2-5/8" (66.68mm) wide.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Understring Radius Gauges
Understring Radius Gauges
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 150 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 111 – 120 < 1  ...  11  12  13  ...  15 >
5 4-28-2011
Understring Radius Gauges

Wonderful tools to have at hand when adjusting my Strat. Solid and well made.
Thank you Stewmac!

Stephen Goldsmith  Castlemaine, Victoria, Australia
5 4-27-2011
Understring radius gauges

Very handy tool(s)! Saves a lot of time measuring. Super!

M. Fermont  The Netherlands Read my reviews (4)
5 4-13-2011
Excellent Quality

I was expecting these gauges to be of high quality, but was blown away by how solid they are! Real time saver and takes the guess work out of setting up a guitar bridge

Heinrich de Beer  Polokwane, South Africa Read my reviews (4)
5 4-11-2011
Just what i was looking for.

I'm just a guitarist, not a luthier but i've been doing some repairs to my Strat and i got the haynes manual for Strats and saw these inside! Took forever to find them online but i found these and though i only really need the 9.5 one i couldn't be happier!!!

Robert LYons  UK
4 4-06-2011
Almost perfect

Good tool, really useful. But why is it so short? I mean, you can't use it on a 7 strings guitar, nor a 5 or 6 string bass.

P.A. Roiron (Guitares-Roiron)  Lyon, France Read my reviews (8)
5 4-04-2011
Why did I wait so long?

These little beauties are an absolute treat - they've saved me so much time already and they help me produce a better setup every time. So much easier than fighting with the ruler! And being such a reasonable price, I wonder why I didn't get them earlier!

Dave Sparrow  Evesham, UK
5 3-31-2011
A must for proper set-ups

These gauges are easy to use and make set ups more refined. I highly recommend these!!

Froggy3018  Aberdeen, NC USA Read my reviews (2)
5 3-30-2011
Pour un réglage parfait!

Ce petit instrument permet d'identifier la courbure de la touche et de régler parfaitement la hauteur des cordes. Tout simplement indispensable !

Bluester  Switzerland Read my reviews (7)
5 3-27-2011
Radius Gauges

When selling guitars people often ask the neck radius. It seems to be very important to them. With these you can tell in an instant. I measure at the 12th fret. Very precise.

Peter Coplin  Princeton, New Jersey
5 3-20-2011
Radius gauges

I was having a hard time with the B string on my Lavavee acoustic occasionally buzzing from not seating on the fret with certain bar chords. The under string radius gauge showed that the saddle for the B string sat several thousands on an inch proud to the other strings. A slight adjustment to the saddle corrected this and now the guitar plays like a champ!

Scott Miller  WI Read my reviews (3)
Displaying 111 – 120 < 1  ...  11  12  13  ...  15 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 13 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce