Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Kits : Dulcimer Kits : Dulcimer Kit

Dulcimer Kit


Read 8 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Easy to build! A simple but rewarding introduction to instrument making, this high quality solid walnut American kit produces a handsome traditional dulcimer with beautiful tone.

See details below

Email a friend
Dulcimer Kit
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0307 Dulcimer Kit Yes
$160.88


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Titebond Wood Glue



ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer



Sandpaper / Finishing Paper Sampler



Cam Clamps



Dulcimer Soundboard Wood



Titebond Wood Glue
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer
Sandpaper / Finishing Paper Sampler
Cam Clamps
Dulcimer Soundboard Wood



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
All the parts are included (strings, pick, geared tuners and instructions, too). You supply the sandpaper, glue and finish. The soundboard and hourglass sides are bookmatched for beauty, and the 26-5/8" scale fingerboard is slotted for fretting. Assembled length: 37-1/2"

Easy finishing options
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer is an economical way for the beginner to apply a finish without elaborate setup or equipment. Only a few cans are needed to completely finish your dulcimer. Or try brush-on application with Brushing Varnish.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Dulcimer Kit
Dulcimer Kit
 
4 out of 5 stars
Based on 8 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 8
5 4-05-2014
Good kit but 1 minor issue

I don't usually buy kits but, as with several other Stewmac kits, I wanted to build some small instruments quickly for a local arts and crafts event that my guitar shop sponsors. The dulcimer kit went together quickly, though I found that the sides were over bent giving a very narrow waist, so I re-bent them to make the waist wider. I had to change the construction technique a little as I wanted to bind the soundboard and back. Overall this would be a very good kit for a beginner.

Jeff Jay  Three Rivers, CA Read my reviews (4)
3 1-26-2014
Some good, some not

I finished mine and I'm happy with the result but it did take some information that is not in the instructions. I installed kerfing on mine, not in the kit. The string gauges are not given and they don't tell you the order. I measured mine and found two .010s, one .013, and one .023. I found out from the Internet this is standard and followed instructions found online. So the kit will make a nice dulcimer but you either need previous building experience or the ability to research online.

K A Lebens  Rock port Wa Read my reviews (2)
5 9-06-2012
The Dulcimer - a very beautiful instrument

It was real fun to build the dulcimer, you just need to take your time and be thorough. It has a very nice sound and if you are captivated by Appalachian music, this dulcimer is really a must. I recommend it highly as the first instrument building project, and I cannot wait to build the next instrument, perhaps a five string open back banjo ? I would love it !

Lars Esmarch  DK - Denmark
2 2-18-2012
Not very good....

I received my dulcimer kit very quickly. The instructions with the unit are fair to poor. Yes it gives you direction but it is all printed on a 8.5 x 11" paper with small print. Luckily I had purchased a book on how to build a dulcimer and have made several improvements. The kit does not come with Kerf lining to help reinforce the connection around the top and back to the sides. I also placed braces across the inside back to help support it. If I would not of read the book, then I guess I would of built an instrument of very poor quality. Luckily I do my research.

overmyer346  Cicero, IN
4 2-13-2012
dulcimer kit assembly

Love the wood... the instructions are not so good. Am half way through with a few errors as i didnt understand the diagrams.... the diagrams didnt match what was in the box. Love the dulcimer though, and look forward to hearing it play.

nikinik  australia
5 1-04-2012
Top quality

The entire kit is perfect. Top quality material. I placed the order Sunday at 9pm and the order was in Ontario Monday at 4pm, Stewmac's warehouse must be at the airport (LoL)!

B Botham  Kingston, Ontario, Canada Read my reviews (4)
3 1-04-2012
dulcimer kit

Nice kit and good sounding dulcimer according to my wife who is a player.

The only thing I was disappointed in was the back plate.

It would be better to have bookmatched plates as the back was as a one piece rather ugly.

I used the bookmatched top for the back and spruce for the top.

Stan Thomison  Branson, MO
5 12-20-2011
My dulcimer

Very good kit, a joy to build and almost ready to build another one.

Don's shop  Canada
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 1 – 8 /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 97 of our latest catalog.


ColorTone® is a registered trademark of Stewart-MacDonald Manufacturing Company, Inc.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce