Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Hardware, parts : Electric guitar: String trees retainers : Guitar String Retainers

Guitar String Retainers


Read 37 Reviews   |   Write a Review

These metal string trees screw into a Fender or similar peghead to maintain the string angle at the nut. Each holds down two strings.

See details below

Email a friend
Guitar String Retainers
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0171 Chrome, set of 2 Yes
$3.03
3 or more $2.52  
10 or more $2.25  

0171-B Black, set of 2 Yes
$3.97
3 or more $3.37  
10 or more $2.94  

0171-G Gold, set of 2 Yes
$4.14
3 or more $3.52  
10 or more $3.07  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Vintage-Style String Retainer



Blank-peghead Guitar Necks



TUSQ XL String Trees



Guitar Tech Screwdriver Set



Depth-stop Drill Bits



Vintage-Style String Retainer
Blank-peghead Guitar Necks
TUSQ XL String Trees
Guitar Tech Screwdriver Set
Depth-stop Drill Bits



Details
 Pictures
Same style string retainers that were used on a post '57 Strat®, Tele® and similar instruments.

Set of 2 includes: 2 string retainers with mounting screws, and spacers (short and tall). Use the short spacer for the E & B strings (many early instruments only used one string retainer for the E and B strings).

Pilot holes required:
Installing delicate screws such as these into hard maple requires great care and accuracy. We highly recommend using a 5/64" bit for the pilot hole before installing these screws. Lubricate the screw threads with cutting lubricant (also wax or a bar of soap) to reduce friction and help them thread properly.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Guitar String Retainers
Guitar String Retainers
 
3.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 37 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4 >
2 6-22-2011
Not so good

You really really need to lubricate the screw with wax or soap, and drill a hole deep enough for the screw with a decent drill bit and to be really really gentle with the screw, using a screwdriver with the exact size for it and never force it.

If you fail at doing one of those things right, you probably will end up with a screw inside the wood, but without the head of the screw.

It has happen to me just once, but that was a real bummer since it was the last detail missing in my build.

The screws need to be made of a stronger metal.

Alfredo Rocha  Mexico City, Mexico Read my reviews (16)
1 6-07-2011
I Should Have Listened

Reading the other reviews I regret not have listened to the warnings that the screws would break in the headstock. I was even extra careful with pilot holes and waxing, but still no success. The only comforting thing is knowing that others have felt this same frustration.

MaxQ  Beaumont, CA
4 5-30-2011
Good Value, But...

I purchased these trees for a project guitar I was building. Quality is good, however the strength of the supplied screws is lacking. I know that there was some user error (pilot hole not drilled deep enough), but when screwing into a maple headstock, the screw sheared off, leaving 3/4 of it embedded into the headstock.

Overall, not a show-stopper, but a bit of a shock, considering that this was the second to last part of the build. Drill deeper pilot holes is all I can say.

GSJ  Ottawa, ON, Canada Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
1 5-25-2011
Poor quality screws

I've used these string trees for two telecaster projects, and in both cases, one of the screws broke and I've had to drill out / repair and replace the tree location. NOT happy with the quaity of the screws on these items. So - beware when using them and have some higher quality screws available for your project.

Greghc48  Oak Ridge, NC Read my reviews (12)
1 4-08-2011
WORST SCREWS EVER

I drilled pilots and screwed them in, not even snug. I put the strings under the trees with light string tension and snappo! Broken screws in my headstock! The rest of the parts are fine. The screws are a JOKE! DO NOT USE THE SCREWS... StewMac, PLEASE discontinue till they fix this.

Whodatpat  College Park MD Read my reviews (6)
StewMac responds

Whodatpat,
We are so sorry to hear you had problems with these screws, and hope that you were able to remove the broken screw from the headstock. We certainly understand your frustration as we've all broken tuner or retainer screws before. You and some of the other reviewers have made a good point: without extra care these small screws are sometimes outmatched by hard maple. In our shops we've had best results using a 5/64" bit for the pilot hole (1/16" is too small). Also, we’ve found it helps to lubricate the threads with wax to help these guys thread properly.

We'll improve the product copy to give better guidance. Hope you'll try these tips, and please don't hesitate to contact us for a full refund or replacement if you run into this sort of trouble again.

Customer supplied image for review
2 3-18-2011
Save your money

I would recommend purchasing real Fender or a known brand of tree. These are just 'alright'. The screws appear to cast metal and are very easy to break even with pilot holes.

TubeGlow  Powell, Ohio
5 2-18-2011
String Retainers

Made with excellent quality material. They provide an ideal lowering the strings. Necessary if you are riding a project like the Stratocaster.

Cunha, Bruno Henrique  Brasília-DF, Brasil Read my reviews (7)
1 1-29-2011
very low quality screws

Screwing these into piloted holes, and they still broke leaving metal bits in the head of my guitar. I've never seen screws so prone to breaking as these!

Nathan  Arlington, VA
4 1-28-2011
just what I needed

I've installed a set of these on three different Telecaster necks, drilling pilot holes each time. They work well and look great. I especially like the two heights of spacers.

SWMike  Culver City CA
1 1-10-2011
junk

These things are garbage,but so are pretty much all the other ones you buy at other sites. I use them but drill a 1/16" pilot hole, then coat the screws in paste wax. They won't break off during installation that way. Just hope they'll hold over time.

SlackJack  Tennessee
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 71 of our latest catalog.


Stratocaster® and Strat® are registered trademarks of Fender Musical Instruments Corporation.


Telecaster®, Tele®, and Esquire® are registered trademarks of Fender Musical Instruments Corporation.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce