Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Hardware, parts : Electric guitar: String trees retainers : Guitar String Retainers

Guitar String Retainers


Read 37 Reviews   |   Write a Review

These metal string trees screw into a Fender or similar peghead to maintain the string angle at the nut. Each holds down two strings.

See details below

Email a friend
Guitar String Retainers
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0171 Chrome, set of 2 Yes
$3.03
3 or more $2.52  
10 or more $2.25  

0171-B Black, set of 2 Yes
$3.97
3 or more $3.37  
10 or more $2.94  

0171-G Gold, set of 2 Yes
$4.14
3 or more $3.52  
10 or more $3.07  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Vintage-Style String Retainer



Blank-peghead Guitar Necks



TUSQ XL String Trees



Guitar Tech Screwdriver Set



Depth-stop Drill Bits



Vintage-Style String Retainer
Blank-peghead Guitar Necks
TUSQ XL String Trees
Guitar Tech Screwdriver Set
Depth-stop Drill Bits



Details
 Pictures
Same style string retainers that were used on a post '57 Strat®, Tele® and similar instruments.

Set of 2 includes: 2 string retainers with mounting screws, and spacers (short and tall). Use the short spacer for the E & B strings (many early instruments only used one string retainer for the E and B strings).

Pilot holes required:
Installing delicate screws such as these into hard maple requires great care and accuracy. We highly recommend using a 5/64" bit for the pilot hole before installing these screws. Lubricate the screw threads with cutting lubricant (also wax or a bar of soap) to reduce friction and help them thread properly.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Guitar String Retainers
Guitar String Retainers
 
3.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 37 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  4 >
5 9-27-2012
No issues - looks and works well.

Not the first pack of these I've purchased. Drill a correct size and depth pilot hole and you'll have good success. Will be back for more.

tb  Portland OR Read my reviews (50)
5 3-22-2012
They work and look great

Got these to finish off the re-do of my FrankenJag. Had to have gold string retainers with the rest of the gold hardware. Would have looked bad without them.

rickhal53  Pembroke, MA Read my reviews (5)
1 3-07-2012
Not traditional at all

I think Fender-style guitar makers traditionally source and use steel screws so as to avoid removing broken screws from maple necks. The screws included with these string retainers are "decorative" (not made of steel) so can break with very little effort (which happened to me). I was able to reinstall by following the suggestions here.

bfors  Winnipeg, MB, Canada
5 1-12-2012
Cool

It's ok

niponz  Thailand Read my reviews (31)
5 1-01-2012
string retainers

Very easy to install, follow instructions as posted on stewmacs site and screws will not break. Very nice quality and look good. Paid more for shipping then for the string retainers that's the only con.

tfp  il
4 1-01-2012
Could be better

It needs a few improvements like stiffer screws. Must be used with extra care.

Claudio Kezen  Brazil Read my reviews (18)
1 12-01-2011
Cheap Chinese crap

The screw spun off into the pilot hole, leaving me wondering how I'm going to dig the metal out of my headstock. I pay more for stuff from Stewmac because I expect it to be good quality, not because I love the fancy packaging and quick shipping. So far the soft screws are about to put me off for good. This broken screw is going to cost me a day of frustration and I'll be lucky if I end up with an unmarked project by the time I'm done.

I only selected one star because I was required to. Zero stars.

Scott is actually my name  Dallas
5 11-23-2011
String retainers

Excellent item. No problem with the screws, but I was replacing other retainers, so the holes had already been used.

Stuart B  Australia
5 11-21-2011
Problem free, dozens of installs

I use these trees on my guitars, and with the high school students in my manufacturing class. Drilling the proper size pilot hole to adequate depth, and turning with an appropriately sized driver tip, we have had no issues using these trees. I appreciate that they have metal spacers rather than the potentially tone-robbing nylon spacers that other suppliers provide.

Mudbug765  Hartford City, IN Read my reviews (13)
1 11-03-2011
JUNK

The screws are total junk. First one I tried to install(with soap) snapped off even with the wood. Went and bought new screws from ACE hardware.

Guy Smith  McKinney, Texas Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  4 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 71 of our latest catalog.


Stratocaster® and Strat® are registered trademarks of Fender Musical Instruments Corporation.


Telecaster®, Tele®, and Esquire® are registered trademarks of Fender Musical Instruments Corporation.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce