Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Fretting supplies : Stewart-MacDonald Fretwire : StewMac Narrow Fretwire

StewMac Narrow Fretwire


Read 67 Reviews   |   Write a Review

.053" to .080"
Narrow fretwire was used on pre-World War II acoustic guitars. It is also used on modern banjos, mandolins, ukuleles and dulcimers.

See details below

Email a friend
StewMac Narrow Fretwire
 

StewMac Narrow Fretwire
Modern standard mandolin fretwire. Popular for ukulele. This size is sometimes used for approximating old-style small banjo fretwire.
 Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
 0764-LB  Narrow/low, 96 ft (1 lb)
Save by the pound!
Yes
$54.98
3 or more $46.73

 0764  Narrow/low, 2 ft Yes
$3.04


StewMac Narrow Fretwire
A bit larger than pre-war Martin guitar wire or pre-war banjo wire. This is the standard modern fretwire for banjos and dulcimers.
 Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
 0147-LB  Narrow/medium, 70 ft (1 lb)
Save by the pound!
Yes
$52.46
3 or more $44.59

 0147  Narrow/medium, 2 ft Yes
$3.94


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Japanese Fret Saw



Fret Tang Nipper



Dual-grit Diamond Fret File



Fret Cutter



Deadblow Fretting Hammer



Japanese Fret Saw
Fret Tang Nipper
Dual-grit Diamond Fret File
Fret Cutter
Deadblow Fretting Hammer



Details
 Pictures
Instrument makers and repair shops rely on us for the highest quality 18% nickel-silver fretwire. We supply our fretwire in 2-foot straight lengths. Order 6 feet for a complete guitar or bass fret job, and 4 feet for a mandolin, banjo or ukulele.

Order fretwire by the pound for tidy savings!
Our bulk fretwire is supplied in convenient clear storage tubes, to keep your wire organized and your workbench uncluttered. You’ll save 50% or more when you order fretwire by the pound.

Our fretwire is sized to fit a 0.023" (0.58mm) fret slot width.

Fretwire is made in a variety of crown heights. Note that after the frets are installed and leveled, they can lose from .004" to .010" in height. High fretwire has a crown height of .045" or more. It may offer more note sustain due to its slightly greater mass, and more fret dressings are possible between refrettings. Low fretwire is often useful for partial refret jobs.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
StewMac Narrow Fretwire
StewMac Narrow Fretwire
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 67 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  7 >
4 6-23-2013
Great Frets

Have used on 4 ukes and all appear to be fine. Waiting for the test of customers, they may be a bit small for some people?

Jerry's Uke Shop  Michigan Read my reviews (2)
5 6-16-2013
Good stuff!

Makes fretting or refretting a breeze, cuts and files easily and seems to last a long time.

Ron Brown  Rapid City, South Dakota Read my reviews (19)
5 5-06-2013
Top Quality Fretwire

I really appreciate the quality of all the items I get from StewMac and their fretwire is no exception. I hang my different sizes on pegboard and love how they are easy to keep organized. As an added bonus it is easy to see when I'm running low so I can reorder before I run out. I also really appreciate the discount they provide on quantity orders. Great job as always StewMac!

justinarts  West Texas, USA Read my reviews (35)
5 4-24-2013
Perfect for the job.

I had to do a partial refret on a 1960 Martin type A Mandolin, and this was exactly right. The customer was delighted with it.

srb-guitars  France Read my reviews (4)
4 3-20-2013
Narrow fretwire

A bit more challenging than larger fretwire. Very few tools are made to deal with this so be prepared to make your own or alter those available for medium wire.

Fleer  Imperial, Mo. Read my reviews (29)
5 2-10-2013
First Fret job

For me the fret wire was exactly as described, very consistent and high quality.

Things I leaned along the way:
- The wire comes flat. If I had pre-radiused the wire before installing, that would have made pressing the wire in without damaging the fretboard a lot easier. I learned more about repair than I wanted to on a new instrument... :)
- I used StewMac's fret press set up to press rather than hammer. Using the right radius and not over-pressing would have helped...

Anyway the wire was great and polished up nicely during finishing. I have been playing the instrument for months now and it sounds great.

Jeff Wolters  Exeter, NH Read my reviews (15)
Customer supplied image for review
5 1-27-2013
Consistently High Quality

Easy to work with

Adrian Stuckey  Gold Coast Australia Read my reviews (29)
4 1-12-2013
Good for vintage look

Even though it is made for mandolins narrow fretwire is ideal for recreating the design of banjos made in the early twentieth century. It fits the overall design of my banjos better than more modern fretwire does.

Mark Harper  Lexington KY Read my reviews (44)
5 1-11-2013
Great fret wire!

I got the finest wire for a special project I'm working on and I couldn't be happier ! I had to inlay special frets that don't reach the edge of the fingerboard and these were unbelievably perfect.

KEA Guitars  North Wales, PA Read my reviews (7)
5 12-23-2012
Narrow fret wire

My first order from StewMac. I'm just starting to build instruments. I was building a cigar box uke kit which included toothpicks for frets. Not good enough. I bought your narrow fret wire and it worked just fine. My first fretting job. It made a much better feel and sound than the toothpick frets. It was easy to install and finish and makes a nice sounding instrument. My next project is a dulcimer and I'll be ordering more for that project.

Char-lee  Howell
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  7 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 8 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce