Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Hardware, parts : Banjo: Heads : Five-Star Head

Five-Star Head


Read 16 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Extra strength under tension! Our popular Five-Star® banjo heads feature the "Five-Star crimp," a patented design that firmly locks the head into a special mounting hoop.

See details below

Email a friend
Five-Star Head
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0100 Frosted Yes
$21.94
6 or more $19.01  
12 or more $16.45  

0100-W Smooth white Yes
$21.94
6 or more $19.01  
12 or more $16.45  

0100-C Clear Yes
$21.94
6 or more $19.01  
12 or more $16.45  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Bracket Hex Wrench



Banjo Bracket Hooks



Bracket Hex Nuts



Five-Star Flathead Tone Ring



Five-Star Archtop Tone Ring



Bracket Hex Wrench
Banjo Bracket Hooks
Bracket Hex Nuts
Five-Star Flathead Tone Ring
Five-Star Archtop Tone Ring



Details
 Pictures
The result is clear, crisp tone and extra strength under tension. There's no epoxy to fail or pull loose.

Five-Star heads have medium crown height, and fit standard 11"-diameter flathead or archtop tone rings on most popular banjos.

#0100 Frosted: The white top-frosted coating on .007" white plastic gives full tone with traditional appearance and texture. The most popular Five-Star head, it's been a favorite with Bluegrass players for over 30 years.

Also available in two unfrosted versions for players who want a brighter tone:
#0100-W Smooth white: Uncoated .007" white plastic.
#0100-C Clear: Transparent uncoated .007" plastic, for a distinctive appearance.

Choosing the right size banjo head
Measure your banjo for the correct head diameter
Your banjo's rim may be slightly out of round, so take at least three diameter measurements at different points on the outside of the banjo's tone ring or rim top. Use the average diameter to the nearest 1/16" to order the correct size.

Most modern banjos use an 11"-diameter head. Modern makers of "old-time" open-back banjos usually use 11" (and sometimes 12") heads. Vintage banjos, however, may have a range of rim diameters from 10" to 12".



Choose the correct crown height
Crown height is the vertical distance from the top of the head's mounting band to the top surface of the head. A banjo with a flathead tone ring (or a flat-topped banjo) requires a medium or high crown head. A banjo with an archtop tone ring requires a low crown head. The correct crown height prevents the banjo's tension hoop from pulling down too far, and ensures the hoop won't be so high as to impede the strings.
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Five-Star Head
Five-Star Head
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 16 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2 >
4 3-09-2014
Service and parts

I've never been dissapointed by any of the parts purchased through StewMac. Even better is the prompt service and delivery. Thanks StewMac

Coconut Monk  St.lucie
5 8-31-2012
Product & service

I recently purchased two 5 star heads for my banjos. I have a Stelling Super Star and a Gold Star. I really like the 5 star head! I have been playing 5 string for nearly 40 years now and the 5 star head really brings out the tone! I am very impressed with the service at Stewart MacDonald's> They kept me promptly looked after in every way and shipped my order promptly and gave me a tracking # and I had my order within a few days. Can't ask for more than that! Thanks Stewart MacDonald's! Bob Jones.

Bob Jones  Grafton, N.B. Canada Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 5-11-2012
Tonal problem-solver

I've been using Five Star heads since they first appeared in the Stew-Mac catalog. The first thing that appealed to me as a setup guy was the special crimp used to secure the Mylar to the hoop; no glue to become brittle, crack and give up. The main thing, though, is that the thicker Mylar used in its construction provides a somewhat "darker" tone palette, perfect for taming the excessive overtones present in many banjos. If you favor the short-decay, classic Bluegrass banjo tone model, the Five Star is the only way to go.

toptension  Staten Island, NY
5 4-12-2012
5 star heads

i've used 5 star heads, for many years and found them to always be of the highest quality. only ever had one to fail, but it had been on the banjo for along time. i had my fender concertone tore down for some clean up, and the new head really brought it back to life. i highly recomend 5 stars

danjo  east lynn wv usa
5 4-08-2012
heads that last

smooth white best sound possible

garydavid2011  australia Read my reviews (6)
3 2-18-2012
A little disappointed

I had heard raves about the 5 star head and am sure it works great for the majority of pickers but on my particular Mastertone, you either have the head sticking up 1/4" or the rim is hitting the groves in the neck making it impossible to tighten the head where you want it. As much as I hated to do it, it was back to the Remo medium that works just fine. This is not a truly medium head, I read the explanation for another issue with the head and agree with the writer. All in all, it's my banjo and not the head as many use them with good results. I returned them.

Ron Brown  Rapid City, South Dakota Read my reviews (19)
5 2-09-2012
Excellent

I initially ordered 3 heads for my banjo as I couldn't determine the exact size.I made 2 separate orders, they were here within days!!!After determining the correct ones I returned the others. I tracked the package and the day it arrived, my refund was processed withtin hours.I cant say enough about Stew mac, great service, great shipping and I love your catalog.

banjaboy  Vancouver BC Canada Read my reviews (5)
4 12-19-2011
It's not so much the item purchased.

It's not always about the products ordered although everything I've order has always met my needs and did what it was supposed to do. More importantly, StewMac's Customer Service and Shipping Department are among the best on the internet. Shipping is always very prompt and the orders are always right. StewMac is the best.

Keep up the great work, it is appreciated.
Yes this is supposed to be a review of the Five Star Banjo Head I recently purchased online from StewMac. The product was just fine - did what I needed it to do.

Ktwok22  Mandan, ND
5 11-18-2011
A great head .................

What more can you say? A great head for banjos where you need a serious degree of tension - not just bluegrass 5-strings but also tenors & plectrums as well. Ultra reliable.

Andybanjo  UK Read my reviews (13)
5 11-08-2011
first time

The five star head we purchased was well made and has had to have very little adjustment after initial installation.

Lori  Robinson, IL
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 81 of our latest catalog.


Five-Star® is a registered trademark of Stewart-MacDonald Manufacturing Company, Inc.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce