Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Electronics, pickups : Supplies: Shielding : Conductive Copper Tape

Conductive Copper Tape


Read 133 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Get rid of buzz and interference in your guitar.
Shield pickups and control cavities with this self-adhesive copper tape.

See details below

Email a friend
Conductive Copper Tape
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0038 Set of all 3 widths SAVE $4.00 Yes
$32.70

0028 2" wide Yes
$19.39

0037 3/4" wide Yes
$12.69

0036 1/4" wide Yes
$4.62


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Conductive Shielding Paint



Self-adhesive Shielding Kit



How to Wire a Gibson Guitar DVD



How to Wire a Fender Guitar DVD



Heat Shrink Tubing



Conductive Shielding Paint
Self-adhesive Shielding Kit
How to Wire a Gibson® Guitar DVD
How to Wire a Fender Guitar DVD
Heat Shrink Tubing



Details
 Pictures
180" rolls for shielding pickups and control cavities to reduce hum, noise and radio interference. The self-adhesive backing is also conductive, so overlapped seams are electrically continuous. Wrap this tape around pickup coils for additional shielding.

Sold individually or SAVE when you buy the set of all three widths.

Conductive Copper Tape surface accepts solder.

Item Width Thickness Length
#0028 2" (50.80mm) .00125" (0.076mm, 1.25 mil) 180" (4.57m)
#0037 3/4" (19.05mm) .00125" (0.076mm, 1.25 mil) 180" (4.57m)
#0036 1/4" (6.35mm) .00125" (0.076mm, 1.25 mil) 180" (4.57m)

For quicker shielding in small, hard to reach areas, use our Conductive Shielding Paint. Also available: our Shielding Kit contains the materials for shielding one guitar.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Conductive Copper Tape
Conductive Copper Tape
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 133 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 91 – 100 < 1  ...  9  10  11  ...  14 >
5 5-27-2011
Easy to use

Cuts and forms easy. Good conductivity and does exactly what it is suppose to do. I did both the cavity and the pick guard. Really made a difference.

Riclin  Niagara Falls, Ont. Canada Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
5 5-25-2011
Copper Tape on a Jazz Bass project

I've heard that the more convenient conductive paint may require many coats of paint -- one luthier even noted they do a hybrid thing: copper tape and the paint. So I decided to try the tape, since it seemed a more robust treatment. If you are careful and can use a scissors, this stuff is GREAT! Easy to use, and the adhesive is good. No soldering. Relatively fast too. I used it on my 5-string fretted Warmoth jazz bass project. Thanks StewMac!

Ed G  Tempe, AZ, USA Read my reviews (8)
Customer supplied image for review
5 5-15-2011
Great

Takes a lot of noise out of the guitar. Would def. recommend it to anyone either making a guitar from scratch or fixin up an older guitar.

crjosh  Pittsburgh, Pa
5 5-11-2011
Definitely necessary.

I purchased this tape to stop my friends Fender bass from humming. Very simple to use, a little tough to start the roll at first, and then the end you've cut to doesn't stay that well. This is a positive though because if you use too much it's easily removed, but it won't ever simply fall off. It also will not simply unravel so that little bit hanging is fine. It did the job I wanted well.

BAW  USA Read my reviews (2)
5 4-24-2011
great product!

In the world of single coil guitars and basses, one will very quickly get acquainted with shielding tape! This product is thinner than most so it can be coaxed into curves and tiny pockets. It has conductive adhesive so it can be used in places you can not solder the joints together with NO loss of conductivity and it stays put. Always buy the set and you will have all possible needs met.

I use this on Vintage Fender Jaguars and Mustangs, and recently a Jaguar bass--all are quiet as a mouse now-use it properly and say goodby to 90% of your 60 cycle hum.

moseseatonjr  NJ
5 4-22-2011
GREAT

Great product

Marcus  Nottingham Read my reviews (6)
5 4-18-2011
good shielding job without spraying

I've been modifying guitar's and bass's electronics for 5 years and this tape helps to do the shielding job without spraying on any imaginable guitar. It's inexpensive and reliable. But keep your fingers protected because it has really sharp edges.

Vasiliy Karpov  Russia, Saratov Read my reviews (3)
5 4-15-2011
How it should look

Read my review below. When you do it correct, this is how it should look. Please note that I also made sure there was copper where every pick guard screw goes, an overkill maybe, but I know it's all covered and works perfect.
Good luck and take your time.

Dollar Shy Dove  Brookings, Oregon Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 4-14-2011
Copper shielding is a Must Do.

I used only the 2" wide tape as it is very easy to cut to any size you need. After installing in every cavity of my Strat, front and back and also back plate and pick guard, input jack area---everywhere, it was worth the money and effort. To do a Great job, it took me 3 hours and did not require any soldering as the sticky side also conducts. After re-assembling my guitar, the hum level on settings 1,3 and 5 of the single coil pickups went, on my scale, from a loud 10 down to a quiet 2. Of course on settings 2 & 4, there was no hum at all due to using dual coil in these settings. I checked my Strat with an everyday homeowners volt meter set for continuity and there was no place now that wasn't shielded and grounded, including the tuning machines(via string transfer).

Summary--take your time and test as you go, your efforts will only be rewarded if you ground and shield everything. Dollar Shy Dove

Dollar Shy Dove  Brookings, Oregon Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 4-08-2011
Is pure magic!

It's amazing sound quality, remove all the noise, my 1997 Gibson SG guitar was another, also just put in my Gibson Flying V 2008.

Rodrigo Gomes  Brazil Read my reviews (44)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 91 – 100 < 1  ...  9  10  11  ...  14 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 50 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce