Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Electronics, pickups : Supplies: Shielding : Conductive Copper Tape

Conductive Copper Tape


Read 133 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Get rid of buzz and interference in your guitar.
Shield pickups and control cavities with this self-adhesive copper tape.

See details below

Email a friend
Conductive Copper Tape
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0038 Set of all 3 widths SAVE $4.00 Yes
$32.70

0028 2" wide Yes
$19.39

0037 3/4" wide Yes
$12.69

0036 1/4" wide Yes
$4.62


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Conductive Shielding Paint



Self-adhesive Shielding Kit



How to Wire a Gibson Guitar DVD



How to Wire a Fender Guitar DVD



Heat Shrink Tubing



Conductive Shielding Paint
Self-adhesive Shielding Kit
How to Wire a Gibson® Guitar DVD
How to Wire a Fender Guitar DVD
Heat Shrink Tubing



Details
 Pictures
180" rolls for shielding pickups and control cavities to reduce hum, noise and radio interference. The self-adhesive backing is also conductive, so overlapped seams are electrically continuous. Wrap this tape around pickup coils for additional shielding.

Sold individually or SAVE when you buy the set of all three widths.

Conductive Copper Tape surface accepts solder.

Item Width Thickness Length
#0028 2" (50.80mm) .00125" (0.076mm, 1.25 mil) 180" (4.57m)
#0037 3/4" (19.05mm) .00125" (0.076mm, 1.25 mil) 180" (4.57m)
#0036 1/4" (6.35mm) .00125" (0.076mm, 1.25 mil) 180" (4.57m)

For quicker shielding in small, hard to reach areas, use our Conductive Shielding Paint. Also available: our Shielding Kit contains the materials for shielding one guitar.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Conductive Copper Tape
Conductive Copper Tape
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 133 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 41 – 50 < 1  ...  4  5  6  ...  14 >
5 10-04-2012
Coperni-strum.

I've used this tape to deaden the hum coming from a Yamaha Pacifica. The tape is extremely easy to use for lining the back of the pickup cover. I'm very happy with the result combined with using the conductive shield paint. Thank you Stew-mac. = ]

Rebel Exile  Edmonton, Alberta, Canada Read my reviews (6)
5 9-14-2012
Excellent Product

Just as advertised. I shielded the whole cavity and now my guitar sounds crystal clear. This product is 100% recommended.

CamRD  Sto. Domingo, Dominican Republic
4 9-11-2012
Good stuff!

I've used Stewmac's copper tape for many years now, always with great results. It's a great money maker for my shop, and I've had many a happy customer when their previously noisy guitar ended up quieter than a tomb.
Tech tip: you MUST completely enclose all cavities, meaning that there has to be a "lip" over the edge of the cavities to mate with the under-the-pickguard shielding. For very troublesome guitars, it may be necessary to shield the trem cavity/cover as well.
If planned carefully, the shielding acts as a ground buss, allowing most of the stock ground wires to be discarded (e.g.: Strat pot-to-pot ground wires are no longer needed-the pickguard shielding grounds them instead). Any wire can act as an RF antenna, so the less length of wire under the hood, the better.
My only complaint (Are you listening guys? Another reviewer mentioned this as well.) is that the thickness of the tape and the backing has gotten much flimsier recently.

Bluboibass  Acworth, GA USA Read my reviews (13)
5 7-31-2012
Tape is good.

Easy to use, does a great job. No more hum!

Dingobass  Perth, Australia Read my reviews (76)
5 7-23-2012
Efficient and pratical

I use a lot and have a great result. Recommended.

Elbio Joel Matte  Porto Alegre, RS Brazil Read my reviews (6)
5 7-09-2012
No more Tele hum!

I used the 3/4" tape in a 69 Tele along with the pickguard shielding foil and it works great.

JJuk  Fullerton, CA Read my reviews (25)
5 7-05-2012
For 30 Years......Excellence !

What can I say but I hope Stew-Mac
never changes. One of the most customer supportive companies that I've ever had the pleasure to deal with, and for 30 years. You've fueled my builds, repairs, and mods. Always giving utmost satisfaction. Recently a tuner bushing broke on a set of Gotohs I had purchased from you. I was truly dumb for thinking that I was probably out of luck. I contacted customer service, and was politely told "no Problem". Two days later i had a new bushing in my mail-box. That's service, and that's Stewart-MacDonald. Larry boydston.

tonequester  spring hill ,KS.
5 7-03-2012
Quality Stuff!

bought 2in. wide roll, came with more than enough to finish my vintage peavey fury bass(including pickguard) even for a rookie modster like me!

BorderBandit  Palmview, TX
5 6-29-2012
Great stuff!

Works really well, keeps the noise out of your guitar!

Cliff W  Sanford, FL Read my reviews (8)
5 6-20-2012
Good stuff

Works great, but recommend shielding paint for the actual cavity. I used it on the cavity cover. Beware - when you unroll it, it scrolls up real bad. Stick the tape on the cavity cover and apply rather than cutting the tape off and trying to apply it. I can hold my guitars up to a fluorescent light and get no noise at all (I actually tried this).

Phil Panczuk  Lynwood, IL Read my reviews (3)
Displaying 41 – 50 < 1  ...  4  5  6  ...  14 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 50 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce