Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Electronics, pickups : Supplies: Shielding : Conductive Copper Tape

Conductive Copper Tape


Read 133 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Get rid of buzz and interference in your guitar.
Shield pickups and control cavities with this self-adhesive copper tape.

See details below

Email a friend
Conductive Copper Tape
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0038 Set of all 3 widths SAVE $4.00 Yes
$32.70

0028 2" wide Yes
$19.39

0037 3/4" wide Yes
$12.69

0036 1/4" wide Yes
$4.62


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Conductive Shielding Paint



Self-adhesive Shielding Kit



How to Wire a Gibson Guitar DVD



How to Wire a Fender Guitar DVD



Heat Shrink Tubing



Conductive Shielding Paint
Self-adhesive Shielding Kit
How to Wire a Gibson® Guitar DVD
How to Wire a Fender Guitar DVD
Heat Shrink Tubing



Details
 Pictures
180" rolls for shielding pickups and control cavities to reduce hum, noise and radio interference. The self-adhesive backing is also conductive, so overlapped seams are electrically continuous. Wrap this tape around pickup coils for additional shielding.

Sold individually or SAVE when you buy the set of all three widths.

Conductive Copper Tape surface accepts solder.

Item Width Thickness Length
#0028 2" (50.80mm) .00125" (0.076mm, 1.25 mil) 180" (4.57m)
#0037 3/4" (19.05mm) .00125" (0.076mm, 1.25 mil) 180" (4.57m)
#0036 1/4" (6.35mm) .00125" (0.076mm, 1.25 mil) 180" (4.57m)

For quicker shielding in small, hard to reach areas, use our Conductive Shielding Paint. Also available: our Shielding Kit contains the materials for shielding one guitar.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Conductive Copper Tape
Conductive Copper Tape
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 133 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 101 – 110 < 1  ...  10  11  12  ...  14 >
5 3-25-2011
re;conductive copper tape

very satisfied with the reduction in tele hum.

mudcat  Penticton,B.C
5 3-24-2011
works great

first time shielding a guitar. this was easy and convenient. it was nice to not have to solder each piece of tape together. just make sure there is a bit of overlap between each piece..checks out great with no resistance.

Calamia guitar works  pa
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-20-2011
Clean, clean, clean

In the old days I used to coat the electronics cavities in my basses with Nickel Print. As that has become quite costly and harder to locate, I turned to this tape. I should have done this years ago. This tape is very easy to cut into the proper shapes, and stays put after you've placed it. Needless to say, the protective qualities are why I use it. No more interference from outside sources. Please keep this in stock, I am certain to need more.

Dougie Mac  Centennial, CO Read my reviews (2)
4 3-17-2011
Works great

The tape worked perfectly. The adhesion seems to be more reliable than I thought it was going to be. I'll use it again. However, I might use spray in tighter spots. Great product.

g2woodwork  Post Falls, Id. Read my reviews (4)
4 3-16-2011
Shielding single coil guitars

I recently used Stew Mac's copper tape to shield a 1958 Strat and a Tele clone that I built. The results were almost unbelievable. I used the 2" and 3/4" tape. While dealing with the tape was a bit infuriating at first (the adhesive is VERY aggressive) I got used to it and the job went faster after the first couple cavities were done.

Take your time, make sure you are marking asymmetric shapes from the correct side of the tape (don't ask...) and it will work out fine. Use star grounding and solder the overlaps between tape sections. You will be amazed at the results. The Tele that I made has drilled channels rather than routes between the cavities. I used brass tubing through the drill channels and soldered the copper tape to the tubing for continuous shielding.

For any of the "Vintage" mavens shocked at doing anything but drooling on '58 Strats, this is an instrument that was on the road in the '70s with Stevie Wonder, the Ojays and other groups. It has an anatomically correct naked woman in pearl on the fretboard, Corvette metallic blue paint with stars, moons, and another naked lady on the body. Thus, no vintage hangups... The owner thinks of it as a tool. But now the engineers don't say " Hey what's that buzzin' out there? Can you stop that buzzin'??

Joe Dragony Guitars  Carmichael, CA
5 3-13-2011
~Hum-free

Since covering the entire cavity and underside of the the pickguard of my strat (single coil pickups) there has been a dramatic improvement in the susceptibility of the RF and 60Hz hum. Do it! Buy the 2" and simply use scissors to cut to fit. Make sure it connects to ground at some point.

Alan  Maine Read my reviews (3)
5 3-13-2011
Excellent copper tape!

Easy to work, conductive adhesive, big 2" roll.

B Wall @ Nickel Basses  Nashville TN Read my reviews (3)
5 3-05-2011
High quality copper tape

I always get mine from Stewmac because, like all their other electronic items, it is high quality. Great stuff!

Archiguitarchi  North, Alabama Read my reviews (5)
4 3-04-2011
It works

I've installed this in 3 guitars and it helped kill hum in all of them quite well. Very easy to install, and sticks for a long time.

Charles G.  USA Read my reviews (9)
5 3-02-2011
Copper Tape

Easy to work with. Molded nicely. Tape side sticks well

Tim Rayner  Omaha, NE USA Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 101 – 110 < 1  ...  10  11  12  ...  14 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 50 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce