Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Electronics, pickups : Supplies: Shielding : Conductive Copper Tape

Conductive Copper Tape


Read 133 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Get rid of buzz and interference in your guitar.
Shield pickups and control cavities with this self-adhesive copper tape.

See details below

Email a friend
Conductive Copper Tape
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0038 Set of all 3 widths SAVE $4.00 Yes
$32.70

0028 2" wide Yes
$19.39

0037 3/4" wide Yes
$12.69

0036 1/4" wide Yes
$4.62


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Conductive Shielding Paint



Self-adhesive Shielding Kit



How to Wire a Gibson Guitar DVD



How to Wire a Fender Guitar DVD



Heat Shrink Tubing



Conductive Shielding Paint
Self-adhesive Shielding Kit
How to Wire a Gibson® Guitar DVD
How to Wire a Fender Guitar DVD
Heat Shrink Tubing



Details
 Pictures
180" rolls for shielding pickups and control cavities to reduce hum, noise and radio interference. The self-adhesive backing is also conductive, so overlapped seams are electrically continuous. Wrap this tape around pickup coils for additional shielding.

Sold individually or SAVE when you buy the set of all three widths.

Conductive Copper Tape surface accepts solder.

Item Width Thickness Length
#0028 2" (50.80mm) .00125" (0.076mm, 1.25 mil) 180" (4.57m)
#0037 3/4" (19.05mm) .00125" (0.076mm, 1.25 mil) 180" (4.57m)
#0036 1/4" (6.35mm) .00125" (0.076mm, 1.25 mil) 180" (4.57m)

For quicker shielding in small, hard to reach areas, use our Conductive Shielding Paint. Also available: our Shielding Kit contains the materials for shielding one guitar.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Conductive Copper Tape
Conductive Copper Tape
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 133 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  14 >
5 11-09-2013
1/4" tape

In my pickguardless superstrat, I found it usefull to line one strip through the wire channel in the body twist the single coil neck pickup leads then wrap them in the copper tape. I checked continuity between cavities. I repaired the gaps in the previous foil job making sure I had a firm electrical connection under the pots and switches.

Eric S.  Kenmore, WA Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
4 10-16-2013
Easy to work with

Used this copper sheilding on a project strat, it was easy to use and works great. I finished my strat in tung oil, cavities and all, and was not sure it would have stuck to the side walls but did just fine. It cut with a pair of scissors and worked great.

Lojo  SoCal Read my reviews (2)
5 10-07-2013
Having a lot of unwanted noise?

This conductive copper tape is amazing if done correctly. Three different widths to fit your guitars' crevices. I definitely recommend this if you want to keep your guitar quiet.

TFord  RI Read my reviews (4)
4 9-28-2013
Fairly easy to work with but...

for my inexpensive jobs it's paint from now on. If you're working on a top notch electric, go for it but it is a bit of a challenge until you get the hang of it.

Dave Dennis  Eaton Rapids, MI Read my reviews (10)
5 9-27-2013
I now own the best guitar in the world!

StewMac's copper tape is fantastic!

Andy Mack  Australia
5 8-18-2013
Excellent

I purchased 2 inch copper tape and shielded 1968 SG with P90 pups . I soldered all tape work with ease . Results - no hum , axe is so quiet that I have already other people asking me to do same magic ;) . Way better than conductive paint ( considering very old guitars where shielding may be removed preserve originality of it )

Darek J.  New York Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 8-17-2013
A Quiet Jazzmaster

Bought a bunch of copper tape to shield a particularly noisy Jazzmaster. Very easy to work with, if you take your time. After 45 minutes of applying tape to the insides of the cavities, and the insides of the pickup covers (thin strip of tape through one of the mounting screw holes, so that the cover is properly grounded)...and I ended up going from a Noisy Jazzmaster, to the quietest guitar I own. Absolutely no buzz. There is still some 60 cycle hum from the pickups. This tape won't completely remove that. Single coils hum, they just do. But after shielding everything, they will hum substantially less.

Edward Iscariot  Rockford, IL
5 6-27-2013
Copper Shielding Tape

This is a great material to use for shielding. It is easily formed and makes suitable electrical connections merely overlapping other layers slightly. It does take a little practice to handle it well. Believe it or not, a couple of handy "tools" to have are a wooden pencil with a good eraser (to press the tape into the corners). This works better than a fingernail which tends to rip the copper foil. A full size rubber eraser in good shape help in corners and to rub the tape down, a smaller pair of sharp scissors and an Exacto Knife with a new blade are also very useful. I make paper templates and then figure the folds, transfer it to the tape and then cut it out. I'm old school, so I solder the joints (un-necessary). The tape is very thin and solders like a dream with a low wattage iron. You can solder on a grounding wire easily. I've done a couple of dozen guitars and basses and would not use anything else. I also have shielded the pickup pockets or the back of Strat style pick-guards. Since that will introduce a (tiny) bit of capacitance, distance matters. You can't change a pocket but you can keep it back a little (1/4") from a pick-guard mounted pickups. I don't claim if it makes any difference, but why not. The attached picture is a Peavey body. The "rough" looking flat areas are from very bumpy paint over-spray. If this is going to bother you, sand down the over-spray smooth before installing the tape. If a guitar is expensive or I was going to show my friends, I'd sand it. The "tabs" along the face connect to the shield tape on the pick-guard when it is installed. There is also a wire soldered in between the main pocket and jack pocket shielding. I used to sand down the paint fairly flat, but now – only if the guitar is valuable. It DOES LOOK NICER. If you have a vintage instrument, don't let that stop you, this tape is easy to remove and even more easily removed if you warm it a bit with a hair dryer. I personally am NOT a fan of conductive paint and you still have to make a wire/ring terminal connection to a painted area. So, with a little practice and you can get this down to about 30 minutes for a GOOD job. This material is great and easy to use. I use it exclusively. I even re-shield guitars painted with conducting paint.

Dennis Walsh  Massachusetts Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
4 6-10-2013
3/4" Copper tape .. Get some!

As long as you are great in doing prep work, this product will function as advertised. Do not neglect to check-your-work as you go.. with a meter. The end result hinges on all the cavities and foil-backed pickguard being 'bonded' correctly, and the entire job being solidly GROUNDED. This is 'scut work', but for many, fun work as well.

Miss Mads  California Read my reviews (3)
4 6-10-2013
Shield it.. I sure did

I had StewMac RF shielding paint already and had completed one Strat with it, when I decided to get the copper shielding tape as well. My 2nd guitar project was a very noisy USA Telecaster. I started by stripping out the hardware, then applying 3-coats of RF paint in all cavities.. I then waited one day for all of that to harden. The 3/4" tape (#0037) is fairly easy to work with. Yes, the adhesive side conducts current too, so NO soldering is required. I covered all the recently painted cavities with the tape. Take-your-time! Go slow, pre-measure and pre-crease before you cut anything to size. The wire channels need a completely different approach. I bonded the cavities together via copper braid "solder wicking". The braid is anchored on each end via more copper tape. Pull the braid as tightly as you can manage. You need room for the wires. The pickguard needed a foil backing so I 'invented' one via "Reynolds Aluminum foil", '3-M Adhesive Spray', a #2 pencil, a razor knife, and a very hard, flat surface to stage everything on. It worked GREAT. The new foil shield gets bonded to the cavity via an additional piece of copper tape up the side of ONE cavity with a small flap bent over onto the finish under the pickguard. I also made sure the output jack cavity was also well-painted/bonded. The end result.. a HUGE, noticeable difference in S/N ratio.. Much quieter now.

All cavities, the foil-backed pickguard, and the output jack must all be "as one" electrically or this won't work as expected. Use a meter constantly to check your progress in grounding everything. The shielding tape works and I'll keep using it.

Miss Mads  California Read my reviews (3)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  14 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 50 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce